Yankees earn berth in Medina Youth Baseball League playoff finals

Contributed Story Posted 29 June 2014 at 12:00 am

The Medina Teachers’ Association Yankees scored a 10-5 semifinal win over the Middleport Reds this past week to advance to the Medina Youth Baseball League playoff championship game.

The Yankees, the lower seed, jumped out to a quick 3-0 lead in the first inning.  Brian Fry led off the game with a double.  He was knocked in on a triple by Nathan Sherman who then scored on a passed ball.  “Seabass” Fisher drew a walk and was doubled in by Benny Beam. Sherman shut down the top of the Reds lineup striking out two and holding the Reds scoreless.

Lincoln Pace led off the top of the second for the Yankees with a single but was stranded at second.  The Reds broke through with a run in the bottom of the second to make the score 3-1.

The Yankees tacked on three more runs in the top half of the third inning.  Fry once again led off with a double and was knocked in by a Sherman single.  Fisher again walked and both Sherman and Fisher came around to score before the Reds got out of the inning.

The Reds drew close in the bottom of the third scoring three more runs to make the score 6-4 Yankees.  The Reds picked up three walks a single and an error in the inning while getting three across the plate.  Benny Beam settled down in the bottom of the fourth retiring the Reds in order while striking out two.

The Yankees padded their lead in the top of the fifth once again scoring three to make the score 9-4.  Conner McNeil led off the inning with a walk and scored on a Fry double.  Fry scored on a Sherman double and Sherman came around to score on a steal and a pass ball.  The Reds could only muster one run in their half of the inning on a double and two errors to bring the score to 9-5.

Ben Beam drew a walk in the top of the sixth along with Lincoln Pace.  Beam managed to score on a  pass ball making the score 10-5.  Fry closed the door on the Reds striking out two in the bottom of the sixth.

The Yankees move on to face the Twins Monday for the championship at Butts Park field at 6 p.m.