Two podium finishes at state championships highlight local wrestling season

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 15 March 2020 at 3:12 pm

Contributed Photo – Mario Fidanza, left, and Cody Wilson

Podium finishes at the state championships by both Albion senior Cody Wilson (285) and Lyndonville senior Mario Fidanza (220) highlighted the recently completed local high school wrestling season.

Wilson, who went 33-7 on the season, finished sixth at the state championships going 3-3 in the competition.. He also placed second at both the Section VI Class B Tournament and at the Section VI state qualifier tourney.

Interestingly, Wilson’s biggest foe throughout the postseason was his Niagara-Orleans League rival Jaden Heers from Newfane.  Heers, who captured the state 285 lb. title, bested Wilson in the finals of the N-O tournament, the Section VI state qualifier and in the quarterfinals of the state championships.

Fidanza, who went 29-4, placed eighth at the state championships going 2-3 in the competition. He also placed second at both the Section V Class B tournament and at the Section V state qualifier tourney.

In just his second year of varsity wrestling, Fidanza earned a trip to the state championships both years.

The season also saw another dozen Orleans matmen surpass the 20 win plateau and five earn N-O titles.

Lyndonville had three other wrestlers who each topped the 20 win mark on the season including Connor Bell (113) who went 30-11, Brennon Munn (138) 23-15 and Rodney Davis (170) 22-12. Bell and Davis both took first place honors at the Section V Class B tournament.

Albion likewise had three other 20 plus win wrestlers including Amilcar Morales (120) 26-12, Dayne Aina (152) 23-13 and Ellwood Hafner (126) 21-15.

Morales and Bryce Kelly (220), who went 17-8, both won N-O titles while Aina placed second and Hafner third.

Medina had a pair of 20 plus win grapplers in RaShawn Bloom (106) who went 23-10 and Miles Hartway (152) who was 24-13.

Hartway along with his Mustang teammates Noah Skinner (60) and Riley Black (195) all captured N-O titles while Bloom finished second.

Holley-Kendall had a quintet of 20 plus win wrestlers including Trystyn Moyer (120) 28-6, Dawson Custer (152) 28-16, Bruce Rasmusson (99) 24-10, Jayden Pieniaszek (132) 22-9 and James Fox (99) 21-17.

Rasmusson and Custer both placed fourth at the Section V Class B2 tourney.