Trump wins big in Orleans, while Clinton carries NY

By Tom Rivers, Editor Posted 8 November 2016 at 10:56 pm

Donald Trump was the big winner in Orleans County today, receiving 10,402 votes or 67.4 percent of the 15,424 cast for president. Hillary Clinton received 4,113 or 26.7 percent.

Third-party candidates Gary Johnson (Libertarian) and Jill Stein of the Green Party received 634 and 179, respectively.

Clinton won the state, which has a big edge in Democrats over Republicans state-wide.

Election officials said turnout was high with 15,580 people going to the polls today, a 67.0 percent turnout out of 23,263 registered voters. In addition the Board of Elections issued 952 absentee ballots. So far, 821 were turned in by today. Those ballots, plus more than 100 affidavit ballots, will be counted on Nov. 15 for the final numbers.

Collins re-elected to third term

Chris Collins was successful winning his third term as congressman in the 27th Congressional District, which includes Orleans and seven other Western New York counties.

In Orleans, Collins received 10,419 votes to 3,624 for Diana Kastenbaum, a Democrat and CEO of Pinnacle Manufacturing Company in Batavia.

Collins released this statement tonight:

“I am honored and humbled to be re-elected by the hardworking people of New York’s 27th District.

Voters here in NY-27 have chosen to reject the status quo in Washington and support individuals focused on creating economic opportunities for all Americans.

This election has brought several vital issues for Western New York to the national forefront. I will continue to fight to bring back our manufacturing jobs, secure our borders, negotiate better trade deals, and stand up to our enemies. Western New Yorkers can count on me to advocate for their interests and enact policies that protect the hardworking families in our community.

I want to thank the voters, our tireless volunteers, and all of my supporters across the district. I would not be here without their strong support, and I look forward to serving the interests of Western New York in the 115th Congress.”

Schumer behind in Orleans, but re-elected state-wide

Chuck Schumer was re-elected to a fourth term to U.S. Senate over challenger Wendy Long. Schumer cruised to a victory, but was behind Long in Orleans County, 7,721 to 6,622. Schumer as a Democrat received 45 percent of the vote in Orleans, a county where Republicans outnumber Democrats by 2 to 1.

3 state legislators, all unopposed, elected with ease

Robert Ortt was re-elected to a second term as state senator since he succeeded George Maziarz in a a district that includes Orleans, Niagara and a portion of Monroe counties.

In Orleans, Ortt received 11,743 votes. He released this statement tonight:

“I would like to thank all of my supporters on my re-election to the New York State Senate. I would also like to thank my family and especially my wife Meghan for all their support.”

Steve Hawley of Batavia was re-elected to another term in the State Assembly, where he was first elected in 2006. Hawley received 13,748 votes in nine of the 10 towns in Orleans. The 139th District includes all of Genesee County and a portion of Monroe County.

Michael Norris will be the new assemblyman for the 144th District which includes Shelby, where Norris received 1,222 votes in Shelby. He will succeed Jane Corwin, who decided against seeking re-election in a district that also includes portions of Niagara and Erie counties.

3 Republicans re-elected county coroners

There was only one race among Orleans County candidates with opposition. There were four candidates running for three spots as county coroners.

The Republican incumbents all won with Scott Schmidt, the chief coroner and a funeral director, the top vote-getter with 11,369. Rocky Sidari, a past Albion fire chief, was re-elected with 9,432, and Charlie Smith, a Ridgeway firefighter, getting 8,513. Katy Owczarczak, who was endorsed by the Democratic Party, received 4,077 votes in her first attempt at elective office.

Other local candidates were all unopposed.

Here are their vote totals:

• District Attorney, Joseph Cardone, 11,210;

• Albion Town Councilman, Arnold Allen Jr., 1,275;

• Carlton Town Clerk, Karen Narburgh, 964;

• Gaines Town Clerk, Sharon Harding, 864;

• Murray Town Justice, Theodore Spada Jr., 1,364.

Return to top