Trio of players from champion Roy-Hart heads N-O All-League softball squad

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 21 June 2018 at 8:39 am

Contributed Photos – Champion Roy-Hart is represented by this trio of Kayla Brown, Maddie Fry and Maddy Glena on the first team of the Niagara-Orleans All-League softball squad.

A trio of players from undefeated (12-0) champion Roy-Hart head the first team of the annual Niagara-Orleans All-League softball squad.

The Lady Rams are represented by senior shortstop Kayla Brown, senior first baseman Maddy Glena and junior catcher Maddie Fry.

Medina, which finished in the runner-up spot at 10-2, has placed senior shortstop Alisha Scroger and junior first baseman Ryenn Oliver.

Akron likewise has a pair of honorees in the senior duo of catcher Abby Stone and first baseman/third baseman Neely Abrams.

Wilson also has two selections in junior second baseman Isabella Schultz and sophomore pitcher Anna Frerichs.

Rounding out the first team are Albion third baseman Natalie DiCureia, Barker senior catcher Kylie Miller and Newfane freshman third baseman Autumn Christy.

Brown is a four-time first team selection and Fry a three-time honoree while Scroger, Stone, Abrams and Miller are all repeat picks.

Medina is represented by Ryenn Oliver, left, and Alisha Scroger and Albion by Natalie DiCureia.

Brown hit .614 this season with 3 doubles, 4 triples, 4 home runs and 42 RBI’s while Fry hit .700 with 7 doubles, 2 triples 1 home run and 24 RBIs and Glena .603 with 5 doubles, 2 triples, 1 home run and 35 RBIs.

Scroger hit .544 with 7 doubles, 1 triple, 2 home runs and 11 RBIs and Oliver .580 with 7 doubles, 4 triples, 4 home runs, two of which were grand slams, and 32 RBIs.

Stone, who was named the N-O Player of the Year, hit .537 with 4 home runs and 27 RBIs. She also went 2-2 on the mound with 27 strikeouts and a 2.520 era. Abrams hit .492 with 4 home runs and 28 RBIs.

Schultz hit .354 with 11 RBIs and Frerichs .318 with 9 RBIs.

DiCureia hit .444 with 4 doubles, 6 triples and 15 RBIs and Miller .483 with 8 double, 3 triples, 1 home run and 26 RBIs.

Akron is represented by Neely Abrams, left, and Abby Stone and Barker by Kylie Miller.

The second team honorees, which are listed by school, includes:

Roy-Hart – freshman pitcher Mallory Steiner and junior outfielder Lexie Lovewell

Medina – junior catcher Ashlee Howell and sophomore outfielder Camri King

Akron – senior pitcher Mattie Klein and junior shortstop Darion Jonathan

Albion – junior first baseman Sierra Newton and junior outfielder Brylie Hapeman

Wilson – freshman catcher Julia Faery

Barker – freshman shortstop Sydnie Luckman

Newfane – junior pitcher Jessica Shoemaker.

Anna Frerichs, left, and Isabella Schultz represent Wilson and Autumn Christy Newfane.

The following players, who are listed by school, received Honorable Mention:

Roy-Hart – junior outfielder Jayden Townsend, junior third baseman Jamie Bower, sophomore pitcher/outfielder Sam Choate and eighth grader second baseman Reanna Perkins.

Medina – sophomore pitcher Lacey Kenward, junior pitcher Cora Payne and junior second baseman Brandi Guild.

Albion – junior shortstop Lexi Wolck and senior catcher Janae Doty.

Wilson – freshman third baseman Madelyn Seeley and freshman first baseman Alycia Thompson.

Barker – freshman second baseman Ella Fox and senior outfielder Morgan Szczepaniak.

Newfane – eighth grader catcher Julia Dumais.