Tigers student-athletes are honored

Contributed Story Posted 11 June 2015 at 12:00 am

Contributed Photo – Lyndonville Athletic Director Lee Dillenbeck presents the Coaches’ Award to Rebekah Hoffee and Ty Hrovat.

Lyndonville High student/athletes were honored Tuesday evening at the annual Tigers Sports Banquet held at the White Birch.

Highlighting the program was the presentation of a number of special honors including the Coaches’ Award to Rebekah Hoffee and Ty Hrovat, the Trevor Cook “Unsung Hero” Award to Haley Wetherbee and Trevor Bentley, the Babe Ruth Sportsmanship Award to Jenna Preston and Devon Joy, The “Doc” Layer Memorial Award to Steven Anderson, the “Bub” Meland Memorial Award to Morgan Hungerford and the Alfred L. Schmitt Memorial Award to Leanne Balcerzak and AJ Buckland.

Hrovat also received the Genesee Region League’s Stan Sherwood Memorial Award.

The Harold Dix Jr. Memorial Soccer Award was presented to Aubrey Lewis and Brian Anderson, the Paul Howell Memorial Basketball Award to Morgan Hungerford and Eric Neace, the Mike Fuller Memorial Wrestling Award to Thomas Follman and the Ted Hettig Memorial Baseball/Softball Award to Jacob Hoffee and Rebekah Hoffee.

The U.S. Army Scholar-Athlete Award was presented to Madison Boyle and Anthony Recco, the U.S. Air Force Award to Kaitlyn Albone and James Ianni and the U.S. Marine Corps Award to Chelsea Poler and Brandon Schoolcraft.

Contributed Photo – Coach Mark Hughes presents the Trevor Cook “Unsung Hero” Award to Haley Wetherbee and Trevor Bentley.

The Tri-Athlete Award was presented to Rebekah Hoffee who played soccer 2011-2014, basketball 2011-2015 and softball 2010-2015. She also received the Genesee Region League Scholar-Athlete Award.

The special team awards included the presentation of Most Valuable Player Awards to Makenzie Muck (soccer), Morgan Hungerford (volleyball), Eric Neace (basketball), Anthony Recco (wrestling), Rebekah Hoffee (softball), Madison Boyle (softball), Ty Hrovat (baseball) and Madison Ledford (Most Spirited Cheerleader).

Most Improved Player Awards were presented to Dianna Smith (soccer), Jenna Preston (volleyball), Leanne Balcerzak (basketball), Jasmine Plummer (basketball), Nickolas Hinkson (basketball), Reese Ledford (wrestling), Haley Wetherbee (softball), Trevor Bentley (baseball) and Kennedy Smelski (basketball cheerleading).

Contributed Photo – Jim O’Conner and his daughter Katie, left, and Madison Boyle carry on the Alma Mater tradition Orange and Black that was started by Madison’s grandfather Fred Large.

Sports Participation Awards were presented to the following seniors: Abigail Rodriguez, Adam Ciffeli, Ajai Strickland, Alexi Plummer, Alexis Montes, Amanda Drown, Anthony Solomon, Aubrey Lewis, Brianna Paniccia, Brook Kiefer, Chase Albone, Ciarra Silversmith, Cody Bentley, Cole Wilcox, Cory Hydock, Dawson Joy, Devon Allen, Dustin Hinkley, Dustin Joy, Dylan Nicholson, Eddie Schildt, Eric Neace, Frankie Carrisquilla, Garen Bayme, Hayden London, Jacob Hoffee, Jay Silversmith, Jeff Gress Jr., Jordan Thomas, Josh Tombari, Kali Jacobs, Kelsie LaSpada, Kennedy Clark, Lily Boyd, Makenzie Muck, Mason Bucholz, Michael Wells, Mitchell Perry, Natalie Allen, Nikolas Ricci, Nicholas Albone, Noland Donald, Rebecca Schoolcraft, Shawn Davis, Sierra Blanar and Matt Scroger.

Contributed Photo – The new baseball banner was dedicated which will be displayed on the Arnold Hartsen Baseball Field celebrating the Tigers league, sectional and regional championship teams over the years. It was dedicated in memory of Mike Donald.