Tigers sending 12 to Section V state qualifier

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 11 February 2022 at 8:18 am

Lyndonville will be sending a school record 12 wrestlers to the Section V Division 2 (small schools) championships on Saturday at SUNY Brockport.

The top two finishers in each weight class will advance to the state championships at Albany on February 25 and 26.

The Tigers contingent includes Shane Nickerson (102), Christian Garver (110), Brody Hazel (118). Ty Holmes (126), Alex Farrell (132), Noah Neff (138), Sebastian Temich (152), Payton Grabowski (172), Maddox Stirk (189), Hunter Dix (189), Sam Doolan (215) and Patrick Hargrave (285).

Holley-Kendall will be represented at the Section V championships by Parker Denning (102), Brendon Eichas (102), Bruce Rasmusson (110), William Kruger (118), Dylan Clemons (138) and Jorden Ostrander (215).

Medina, Albion and Roy-Hart/Barker wrestlers will be competing in the Section VI Division 2 championships at Jamestown Community College on Saturday with the top two finishers in each weight class advancing to the state championships.

Medina is represented by the quintet of Dominick Callara (102), Reece Senske (102), Rashawn Bloom (118), Gavin Ciarfella (126) and Conor Crandall (160). Callara and Ciarfella have both earned No. 1 seeds.

Albion will have six competitors including Jr. Morales (138), Ellwood Hafner (145), Alex Hafner (152), Blake Stornelli (172), Dayne Aina (189) and Angel Cruz-Cruz (215).

Roy-Hart/Barker is represented by Luke Fay (110), Quinn Brown (145), Ronan Klug (152), Jaeyden Robinson (160), Zach Hill (189), Dan Moore (215) and Andrew Hill (285).