Tax payment deadline extended to Feb. 21 for Barre and Murray

Staff Reports Posted 14 February 2019 at 5:53 pm

Property owners in the Orleans County towns of Barre and Murray have been given three extra weeks to pay their property taxes, due to the rough winter weather that closed government buildings and slowed the Postal Service leading up to the Jan. 31 deadline.

Governor Andrew M. Cuomo today issued an executive order extending the property tax payment due date in municipalities impacted by recent winter storms. This extension allows residents to pay their taxes without interest or penalty for an additional 21 days past the final date taxes are due.

The executive order is in direct response to requests by several municipalities whose property tax due dates fell during or shortly after recent storms, but whose residents were unable to make the payments on time due to the disruption of public transportation, utility service and postal operations.

“With several recent winter storms impeding the ability of residents across the state to pay their property taxes on time, I am extending the due date for these payments to ensure New Yorkers are not penalized as a result of Mother Nature’s unpredictability,” Cuomo said. “Dealing with winter weather events is stressful enough, and residents in communities especially hard hit can rest assured they will not be further impacted by these storms.”

The extension was granted to Cayuga, Chautauqua, Jefferson, and St. Lawrence counties, as well as towns in 40 other counties. In addition to Barre and Murray in Orleans, other towns in nearby counties in the extension include: Darien in Genesee, Hartland, Niagara and Pendleton in Niagara County; and Arcade and Covington in Wyoming County.

Return to top