State trooper will be keynote speaker for Albion honor grads

By Tom Rivers, Editor Posted 13 May 2018 at 8:29 am

Steven Papponetti, 2011 graduate, has been Albion ‘firefighter of the year’ 3 times

Steven Papponetti

ALBION –  The honors graduates at Albion will hear from a recent Albion grad who has stayed active in the local community while working as a state trooper.

Steven Papponetti, Class of 2011, will serve as guest speaker on May 21 for the Academic Honors Convocation. Albion recognizes seniors with cumulative grade point averages at 90 percent or higher.

While a student at Albion, Papponetti participated in the Workplace Internship Program, interning at the Medina Fire Department and the Albion Police Department. He was also involved in the Albion Fire Department’s Explorer program and in 2009 was named Explorer of the Year.

He attended Hilbert College and participated in the Leadership Program his freshman through senior years.  He graduated with honors and earned his Bachelor of Science in Forensic Science/Crime Scene Investigation. He attended the Law Enforcement Training Academy in 2015 and the New York State Police Academy in 2016.

Papponetti became a New York State Police Trooper on April 5, 2016. His duties include the enforcement of vehicle and traffic safety as well as maintaining safety for residents of New York State. He participated in Operation G.I.V.E., a Gun Involved Violence Elimination Initiative, in the City of Rochester. The program focuses exclusively on reducing and preventing shootings and firearm-related homicides.

Papponetti believes in service to his community. He continues to be a volunteer firefighter and is currently a 1st Lieutenant in the Albion Fire Department. He received Firefighter of the Year in 2011-2012, 2014-2015 and 2015-2016. His father, Harry, is Albion’s fire chief.

Richard Paul Daniels is the valedictorian of the Class of 2018, and Tyler John Kast is the salutatorian.

Other honor students who will be recognized at the Honors Convocation include:

Hailey Lynne Bader, Elisabeth Jane Baker, Victor Francis Benjovsky, Emily Mae Caldwell, Garrett Derisley, Natalie Rose DiCureia, Nathan Leigh Fearby, Josiah Eliazer Finzer, Emma Katherine Fox, Allison Signor Graham, Sara Joanne Hillman, Emma Lynne Lonnen, Gricelda Maldonado, Alana Marie Petronio, Caleb Andrew Pettit, Justin Edward Robinson, Riley Marie Kate Seielstad, Nathanael Bradford Smith, Samantha Rose Vanacore, Noah Colin Wadhams and Kaitlin Krystyna Zwifka.

Return to top