Snell’s claimed first Div. 1 county softball title

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 19 July 2020 at 8:03 am

Contributed Photo – Snell’s captured the inaugural Orleans County Division 1 softball championship in 1990. The Snell’s lineup included, in front, John Grillo, Jim Aina, Larry Hughson, Ron Ricker, Jason Zicari and Dave Snell. In back are Dan Monacelli, Frank Bartlett, Pete Jones, Alec Sherman, Stan Romanowski and Dan Bartlett.

The interest in slo-pitch softball exploded in this area during the 1980’s and 1990’s as the Medina League alone had as many s 32 teams competing in four divisions and the Albion League three divisions.

In 1990 the inaugural county men’s softball championships were held at Medina’s Vets Park and in the featured Division 1 title contest Medina League Division 1 champion Peter Snell Real Estate defeated Albion League Division I champ ERA Morrison Realty 16-4.

Snell’s took charge at the outset by exploding for nine runs on nine hits in the first inning highlighted by a three-run home run by Frank Bartlett and two-run singles by Stan Romanowski and Jason Zicari.

The winners quickly tacked on three more runs in the second inning on a double by Pete Jones and consecutive singles by Dan Bartlett, Ken Burke and John Grillo.  Jones and Dan Bartlett then had back-to-back doubles to ignite another three run uprising in the third inning.

Zicari finished with a total of four hits as Frank Bartlett, Jones, Dan Bartlett and Grillo each added three and Larry Hughson, Burke, Romanowski and Ron Ricker two each.

For Morrison’s, Mike Kent, Mike Talbot, George Hildreth and Dan Marek each banged out a pair of hits.

In all four division champions were crowned in the event which included not only the Medina and Albion playoff winners but also the Barker League champion.

In a matchup of Division 2 champions, Rudy’s of the Albion League defeated Ranallo’s of the Medina League 18-13. The other title contests saw Albion Division 3 champion Pritchard/Slack defeat Medina League Division 4 champ Knights of Columbus I 15-5 and Medina Division 3 champion Mr. Ed’s down Barker League champ Klino’s 10-6.