Slate set for November election with most candidates unopposed in Orleans County

By Tom Rivers, Editor Posted 10 October 2021 at 9:58 am

Most of the candidates on the ballot for the Nov. 2 election in Orleans County will be unopposed.

None of the candidates for county positions have opposition and only a few positions at the town level are contested.

Voters go to the polls on Nov. 2, and there will also be early voting from Oct. 23 to Oct. 31 at the Board of Elections at the County Office Building on Route 31 in Albion.

Nearly all the candidates are Republicans. Only two Democrats are on the ballot. Others made the ballot filing independent petitions or running under the Conservative Party.

Here is the slate of candidates:

• Orleans County (all unopposed) – Kim DeFrank for country treasurer; Merle (Skip) Draper of Medina for county legislator, at-large west; Don Allport of Gaines for county legislator, at-large central; Ed Morgan of Murray for county legislator, at-large east; Bill Eick of Shelby for District 1; Lynne Johnson of Lyndonville for District 2; Fred Miller of Albion for District 3; John Fitzak of Carlton for District 4.

All the county candidates are Republicans, except Fred Miller, who is a Democrat. Morgan and Fitzak are running for the Legislature for the first time. Morgan is seeking the spot held by John DeFilipps who is retiring on Dec. 31. Fitzak is running for the position held by Ken DeRoller, who isn’t seeking re-election.

• Albion — All of the candidates are unopposed, including Richard Remley for town supervisor; and Sandra Bensley and Arnold Allen Jr. for the Town Board.

• Barre – Sean Pogue, a Republican, is being challenged for town supervisor by Gerald Solazzo, who is running under the independent “Voice of the Citizens.” George McKenna and David Waters are on the ballot for positions on the Town Board. They have the Republican line and also the independent “Voice of the Citizens.” However, Steve Harling and Tom Decker are mounting a write-in campaign against McKenna and Waters.

• Carlton – Two are vying for town clerk with incumbent Karen Narburgh having the Republican and Conservative lines while Dori Goetze runs under the independent “Be the Change.” Other Carlton candidates are unopposed: Kevin Hurley for town justice, Jeff Gifaldi and Debbie Yokel for Town Board, and Kurt Van Wyke for highway superintendent.

• Clarendon – Richard Moy is unopposed for another term as town supervisor, while three candidates seek two spots on the Town Board. Chris Caufield and Marc Major are backed by the Republican Party and William Fox is running as a Democrat.

• Gaines – The Republicans are all unopposed including Tyler Allport for town supervisor, Susan Heard for town clerk, Charles Prentice for town justice, and James Kirby and Kenneth Rush for Town Board.

• Kendall – The candidates, all running under the Republican Party line, are unopposed including Anthony Cammarata for town supervisor, Amy Richardson for town clerk, Debra Kluth and Robert Fagan for town justice, Wayne Martin and Paul Jennings for Town Board, and Warren Kruger for highway superintendent.

• Murray – The candidates are all unopposed on the ballot, including Joe Sidonio for town supervisor, Cindy Oliver for town clerk, Gary Passarell for town justice, Michael Mele and Paul Hendel for Town Board, and Dirk Lammes Jr. for highway superintendent.

• Ridgeway – There are races for town clerk and the Town Board. For town clerk, Hannah Hill is running under the Republican line and independent “Hannah Hill for a Better Ridgeway” against Laurie Kilburn, who is endorsed by the Conservative Party and also is running under the independent “Laurie Kilburn for the People of Ridgeway.”

Three are seeking two spots on the Town Board including Jeff Toussaint and Cliff Barber, who are running as Republicans against David Stalker, who is backed by the Conservative Party. John Olinger is unopposed for highway superintendent.

• Shelby – Jeff Smith is uncontested for town supervisor and Stephen Seitz Sr. and Edward Zelazny are unopposed for the Town Board.

• Yates – There are seeking two spots as town councilmen with Harold Suhr and Terry Chaffee Jr. running as Republicans against Paul Lauricella Jr., who is backed by the Conservative Party and also is running under the independent “Lyndonville Taxpayers First Party.” Jim Simon is unopposed for town supervisor and Donald Grabowski is uncontested for town justice.