Shelridge club championship has had many multiple winners over the last six decades

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 15 July 2020 at 10:12 am

Contributed Photos – Ray Neuman, left, has won a record eight Shelridge Club championships while Dave Boice is second on the all-time list with six victories.

Since the club’s inaugural year in 1960 the Club Championship has been the feature event at the Shelridge Country Club and over the past six decades it has had nearly a dozen multiple winners.

Walter Levandowski outdueled Edward Slack in a 56 hole marathon (20 holes over the then tourney regulation 36) to win the inaugural Presidents Cup in 1960.

However, the trend of multiple winners then quickly began as William Meredith captured the title the next three years in a row (1961-62-63).

Ray Neuman holds the record having captured the President’s Cup eight times. He scored solo wins in 1997 and 2000, then took two in a row in 2005 and 2006 and finally captured four straight from 2008 to 2011.

Neuman’ s run of four straight from 2008 to 2011 ties the record for most titles in a row which was first set by Tom Hungerford who claimed the championship in 2001, 2002, 2003 and 2004.

Dave Boice, who captured titles in three different decades, is second on the all-time list having claimed the President’s Cup six times. He scored wins in 1978, 1980, 1986, 1990, 1991 and 1994. That 1994 title was most memorable as he rallied from seven shots back over the final 18 holes to earn the championship.

In addition to Hungerford, two other golfers are four-time champions –  John Francisco Jr. who won in 1981, 1982, 1983 and 1987, and Brandon Grzywacz who is the current three time defending champion. He first won in 2012 and has now claimed the title in 2017, 2018 and 2019.

Grzywacz and Francisco join Meredith as the only golfers to capture the title three years in a row.

In addition to Meredith, two other golfers have claimed the title three times – Mark Rydza in 1995, 1996 and 1999 and Brett Decker in 2007, 2015 and 2016.

The event has also seen a trio of two-time champions including Richard Siedlecki (1966 and 1967), Stu Broom (1968 and 1970) and Alex Misiti (2013 and 2014.

The club’s list of President’s Cup championships also has 19 one time winners, all of which occurred before 1999. That list includes:  Richard Bloom (1964), Doug Patten (1965), Richard Otto (1969), Jim White (1971), Duane Johnson (1972), John Francisco Sr. (1973), Pete Corrallo (1974), Jim Castle (1975), Tim Moriarty (1976), Bruce March (1977), Rick Barden (1979), Rodger Schmidt (1984), Stu Caswell (1985), John True (1988), Lynn Evans (1989), Lou Valery (1992), Bob Moreland (1993) and Bruce Foley (1998).

The 2020 President’s Cup tourney is slated for later this month.