Sectional title season for Mustang booters

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 7 November 2013 at 12:00 am

Photo by Bruce Landis – Earning top honors for the second time in three years, Medina/Lyndonville recently claimed the Section VI Class B-1 boys soccer championship with a 2-1 overtime win over league foe Newfane. In front, from left, are Cooper Hardiman, Gilles Deviere, Hayden Allis, Anthony Pane and Evan Milleville. In the middle row are Jame Ianni, Austin Brown, Greg Husung, Steven Anderson, Scott Barber, Aaron Feltz, Ben Martin, Ben Howell and Alex Murphy. In the back row are Coach Steve Luksch, Austin Owens, Collin Dunn, Max Owens, Josh White, Cedric Griffith, Colm Cooper, Brennen O’Connor, Barry Rogenmoser and Adam Hoot.

Putting together a strong post season run, Medina/Lyndonville captured the Section VI Class B-1 boys soccer championship last week with a narrow rain soaked 2-1 overtime victory over Niagara-Orleans League foe Newfane at Hamburg.

It marks the second time in the last three years that the Mustangs have claimed a sectional title.

Medina/Lyndonville, which finished in third place during the N-O campaign, defeated Eden 4-0 in the quarterfinals and Lafayette 2-1 in the semifinals to gain a berth in the B-1 finals.

However, just as was the case two years ago, N-O foe Akron spoiled the Mustangs quest for a berth in the state playoffs by posting a 2-0 victory in the Class B qualifier. The Mustangs and N-O champion Tigers had split a pair of league meetings.

“Our goal from the beginning of practice was to get back to the finals and they came through,” Coach Steve Luksch said. “They worked extremely hard in practice and came through to win the sectionals.”

Medina/Lyndonville, which finished the season with a 13-5-2 record, was led offensively this season by junior Steven Anderson with 16 goals and 5 assists, junior James Ianni with 12 goals and 16 assists and senior Anthony Pane with 8 goals and 4 assists.

The Mustangs lineup of regulars, which featured a near perfect blend of Medina and Lyndonville players, also included senior goalie Adam Hoot, senior defenders Scott Barber, Hayden Allis, Evan Milleville, Alex Murphy and Barry Rogenmoser; junior defender Collin Dunn; senior midfielders Brennen O’Connor, Ben Howell and Josh White; junior midfielder Aaron Feltz and sophomore midfielders Greg Husung and Colm Cooper.

“It was a pretty special season,”Luksch said. “They really came together as a team and came through in some big moments in big wins over Newfane and Akron and won the B-! sectionals.”