Section VI unveils 2017 football alignment

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 6 February 2017 at 10:29 am

Medina/Lyndonville and Albion in different divisions, but will still play each other

Unlike most other sports the Section VI football division alignments in the past have not been determined by enrollment but that will change this coming fall.

For the first time the division alignment for the section’s 18 Class B schools, which includes Albion, Medina/Lyndonvile and Barker/Roy-Hart, will be determined by enrollment.

The six largest schools by enrollment will comprise the B1 Division, the next six B2 and the smallest six B3.

“I’m pretty excited about it,” said Medina/Lyndonville Coach Eric Valley. “It’s the first time they are truly following a system. I like the way the division is decided.”

Medina/Lyndonville and Barker/Roy-Hart will be in the B3 Division along with Newfane, Alden, Tonawanda and Lackawanna.

Albion will be in the B2 Division along with Dunkirk, Olean, Springville, Depew and Fredonia/Westfield/Brocton.

The B1 Diivision will include East Aurora/Holland, Pioneer, Cheektowaga, Burgard/MST, Lew-Port and Maryvale.

Though in separate divisions Medina and Albion will still play each other as an interdivisional contest.

The enrollments for the Class B schools are as follows: East Aurora/Holland 555, Pioneer 550, Cheektowaga 523, Burgard/MST 512, Lew-Port 503, Maryvale 498, Dunkirk 471, Olean 455, Springville 448, Albion 446, Fredonia/Westfield/Brocton 442, Depew 429, Lackawanna 425, Newfane 423, Alden 412, Medina/Lyndonville 408, Tonawanda 399 and Barker/Roy-Hart 379.