Seahorses, Purple Eagles earn splits

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 12 December 2013 at 12:00 am

Photo by Cheryl Wertman – Chase Pecoraro heads for a win in the 200 free for Medina which split with visiting Newfane this afternoon. The Seahorses won the boys meet and the visiting Panthers the girls competition.

Medina and Albion both scored home pool splits this afternoon in Niagara-Orleans League swim action.

The Medina boys squad evened its record at 1-1 by downing Newfane (1-1) 93-75.

The four-time defending champion Newfane girls team improved to 2-0 by downing Medina (0-2) 102-68.

The Albion boys likewise evened their record at 1-1 by defeating Akron (0-2) 47-30.

The Akron girls team bested Albion (0-2) 72-22 to go to 1-1.

The seven-time defending champion Roy-Hart boys topped Barker (1-1) 105-63 to go to 2-0.

The Roy-Hart girls squad also improved to 2-0 by downing Barker (1-1) 102-67.

Chase Pecoraro doubled in the 200 and 500 freestyle events and Austin Brown in the 100 butterfly and 100 backtroke to lead the Medina boys.

The Seahorses also swept the three relays as Brown, Patrick Roberts, Kristian Snyder and Derek Donley won the 200 medley; Donley, Pecoraro, Austin Heil and Damien Norrish the 200 free and Heil, Pecoraro, Brown and Donley the 400 freestyle.

Kiki Dy doubled for the Newfane girls in the 100 and 200 freestyle and was also a member of the winning 200 and 400 freestyle relay teams.

The Lady Panthers also got wins from Allie DeBiase (200 individual medley), AnneMarie Aber (100 butterfly), Lydia Gaughran (500 free) and Meghan Mietlicki (100 breaststroke). DeBiase and Kendall Schmeelke were also both on two winning relays.

Emma Gardner won the 50 free and Krista Nellist the 100 backstroke for Medina.

Photo by Cheryl Werrman – Kelsey Evoy competes in the breaststroke for Medina.

Morgan Seielstad doubled in the 200 and 500 freestyle for the Albion boys squad which also had Tim Blue win the 100 free, Dan Beam the 200 individual medley and Bailey Maier the 100 backstroke.

The Albion girls had Brooke Wilson win the 100 free.

Double winners Julia Diebel (200 individual medley, 100 backstroke) and Katie Grant (200 and 500 free) led the way for the Akron girls.

The Roy-Hart boys were sparked by a trio of individual event double winners including Roy Phipps (50 and 100 free), Nick DiNardo (200 and 500 free) and Lyle Wagner (200 individual medley, 100 butterfly).

Elliott Spitzer also took the 100 backstroke and Tanner Rees the 100 breaststroke for the Channel Cats.

Calee Coleman doubled in the 500 free and 100 backstroke and Lindsay Yates in the 50 and 100 free for the Roy-Hart girls which also got wins by Courtney VanBuren (200 free), Alex Hill (200 individual medley) and Melissa Zakrzewski (100 butterfly).

Hayley Richbart won the 100 breaststroke for Barker.

N-O Standings

Boys: Roy-Hart 2-0, Albion 1-1, Barker 1-1, Medina 1-1, Newfane 1-1, Akron 0-2.

Girls: Newfane 2-0, Roy-hart 2-0, Barker 1-1, Akron 1-1, Albion 0-2, Median 0-2.