Scholarship and Memorial Awards are presented at Block M

Contributed Story Posted 3 June 2016 at 12:00 am

Contributed Photos

The annual Medina High Block M sports banquet sees the presentation of a number of special scholarship and memorial awards including the Larry Decker Memorial Scholarship which is given to the athlete or athletes who most exhibits the traits embodied by long-time coach, Larry Decker. This year’s recipients are Stella Russo and Justin Morgan who are pictured with Larry’s son, Brett Decker.

The Charlene Schrader Award, which is given to the the swimmer who demonstrates a love for the sport was presented to Andrea Toussaint.

The Dave Boice and Bill Ossont Scholarship, which is given in honor of two long-time Medina coaches, was presented to Charles Beach.

The Gary Gross Memorial Scholarship, which is given to wrestler who best displays a love for wrestling in honor of long-time supporter, Gary Gross was presented to Joe Velez and Charles Beach.

The Beverly Sargent Award, which is given to the athlete who embodies the qualities of long-time Parents Athletic Club trustee, Bevery Sargent was presented to Hannah Lonnen.

The Fats Piedmont Award which is given to the fans who exhibit the most support and enthusiasm for Medina Athletics was presented to Carl Tuohey and Jackson Tuohey.