Roy-Hart trio heads N-O All-League team

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 17 June 2022 at 8:44 am

Photos by Cheryl Wertman – Roy-Hart’s first team All-League honorees include, from left, Juliana Buscarino, Reanna Perkins and Kaitlin Mettler.

A trio of players from undefeated (12-0) champion Roy-Hart head the first team of the annual Niagara-Orleans All-League softball squad.

Senior pitcher Reanna Perkins, who has been named N-O Player of the Year for the second straight year, heads Roy-Hart’s honorees which also includes junior infielder Juliana Buscarino and freshman infielder Kaitlin Mettler.

Runner-up Barker (8-4) has placed the duo of junior infielder Lilly Monthony and eighth grade pitcher Peyton Bradley.

Third place finisher Akron (7-5) also has two honorees in senior outfielder Ella Hill and junior infielder Elsie Logan.

Medina’s Faith Oberther, left, and Albion’s Aly Knaak.

Rounding out the first team are Albion senior infielder Aly Knaak, Medina senior pitcher Faith Oberther, Newfane senior catcher Julia Dumais and Wilson sophomore catcher Rian Faery.

In the circle, Perkins registered 165 strikeouts and has a 1.826 earned run average. At the plate she hit .500 with 6 doubles, 3 triples, 10 home runs and 32 RBIs.

Buscarino hit .424 with 4 doubles, 3 triples, 1 home run and 17 RBIs and Mettler .302 with 1 double, 1 triple and 1 home run.

Monthony hit .516 with 7 doubles, 4 triples, 1 home run and 31 RBIs and Bradley .431 with 6 doubles, 3 triples and 30 RBIs. In the circle Bradley had 90 strikouts.

Knaak hit .477 with 3 doubles, 1 triple and 13 RBIs; Oberther .245 with 2 doubles, 3 triples and 6 RBIs and Dumais .633 with 5 doubles, 3 triples, 2 home runs and 10 RBIs. In the circle, Oberther had 58 strikeouts.

The second team All-League honorees, listed by school, are as follows:

Roy-Hart – junior infielder Maria Peracciny and freshman infielder Lila Brigham.

Barker – junior infielder Mia Herman and sophomore catcher Anna Bowerman.

Albion – senior pitcher Leah Pritchard.

Barker’s Peyton Bradley, ;left, and Lilly Monthony.

Medina – senior outfielder Lily Carpenter

Akron – junior pitcher Mary Diggs and sophomore catcher Ashlee Henning.

Wilson – senior infielder Bella Lemke and senior pitcher Abby Hurtgam.

Newfane – senior infielder Alayna Ander.

The Honorable Mention selections, listed by school, are as follows:

Roy-Hart – senior outfielder Marissa Scott and eighth grade catcher Peyton May.

Barker – sophomore outfielder Rachel Sutter and sophomore pitcher Natalie Brandel.

Albion – senior infielder Kenzi Hapeman, freshman catcher Cami London and freshman infielder MacKenzie Snook.

Medina – junior infielder Rylee VanNostrand and sophomore infielder Miriam Fike.

Akron – junior infielder Melanie Holtz and sophomore pitcher Sloan Jonathan.

Newfane – senior outfielder Kendall Knealing and junior infielder Allie Szratter.

Wilson – senior outfielder Juliana Levesque and senior infielder Kaelin Faery.