Roy-Hart sets pace at annual Niagara-Orleans League boys individual swim championships

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 29 January 2020 at 9:36 pm

Undefeated (10-0) regular season champion Roy-Hart took first place honors in six of 11 events at the annual Niagara-Orleans League boys individual swim championships this evening at Akron.

Carter Green was a double winner in the 200 Freestyle (1:51.39) and the 500 Free (5:12.86) and Will Rickard captured both the 50 Free (:23.18) and 100 Free (:51.51) to lead the way for Roy-Hart.

Green and Rickard also teamed up with Ozzy Moore and Noah Stern to win both the 200 Freestyle Relay (1:34.48) and the 400 Freestyle Relay (3:31.17).

Medina captured the 200 Medley Relay in a time of 1:47.72 with the quartet of Hunter Heil, Isaac Pace, Chris Goyette and August Pietrafesa.

Heil also won the 100 Backstroke in :58.63.

Albion’s Sam Sanchez won the 100 Butterfly (:56.48), Akron’s Jacob Cobti the 200 Individual Medley (2:13.69) and Barker’s Ryan Santarsiero the 100 Breaststroke (1:06.53).

In the individual events second place finishes went to Pietrafesa (200 Free), Santarsiero (Individual Medley), Ryan Krenning of Albion (50 Free), Heil (Butterfly), Stern (100 Free), Christopher Ulrich of Roy-Hart (500 Free), Thomas Furmanski of Albion (Backstroke) and Pace (Breaststroke).