Roy-Hart sets pace at boys N-O All-League swim championships

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 4 February 2014 at 12:00 am

Contributed Photo – Five Roy-Hart swimmers, Roy Phipps, Lyle Wagner, Nich DiNardo, Evan Conley and Ray Sack had a hand in a total of eight victories this evening in the annual Niagara-Orelasn League boys individual swim championships held at Newfane. The host Panthers had a double winner in Andrew Hamelink while Barker ‘s 200 free relay team of John Stansbury, Tim Flint, Collin Webb and Casey Webb also scored a victory.

Regular season champion Roy-Hart claimed victories in 8 of 11 events at the annual Niagara-Orleans boys individual swim championships held this evening at Newfane.

The Channel Cats were led by a trio of individual event double winners as Nich DiNardo won the 200 freestyle (1:59.96) and the 500 free (5:27.10), Lyle Wagner the 100 butterfly (:56.50) and 100 backstroke (:59.86) and Roy Phipps the 50 free (:22.77) and 100 free (:50.17).

Wagner and Phipps also teamed up with Evan Conley and Ray Sack to win the 200 medley relay (1:49.84) and with DiNardo and Sack to take the 400 free relay (3:35.66).

Newfane’s Andrew Hamelink was a double winner taking the 200 individual medley (2:24.0) and the 100 breaststroke (1:10.31).

Barker’s quartet of John Stansbury, Tim Flint, Collin Webb and Casey Webb teamed up to win the 200 free relay (1:36.73).

Casey Webb also finished second in both the 50 and 100 freestyle events as did Stansbury in the butterfly.

Albion’s Morgan Seielstad took second in both the 200 and 500 free as did Roy-Hart’s Tanner Rees in the individual medley and breaststroke and Medina’s Chase Pecoraro in the backstroke.

Pecoraro also teamed up with Austin Brown, Derek Donley and Austin Heil to earn Medina a second place finish in the 200 free relay.

Barker’s relay squads took a pair of seconds with Flint, Stansbury, Collin Webb and Alex Godolander in the 200 medley and Stansbury, Collin Webb, Casey Webb and Alonzo St. Louis in the 400 free.