Roy-Hart and Medina duos head N-O All League boys basketball first team

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 15 March 2022 at 8:22 am

Photos by Cheryl Wertman – Roy-Hart’s first team N-O All-League honorees Jamel Johnson Jr., left, and Aiden Petrie.

Champion Roy-Hart and Medina have both placed two players on the first team of the annual Niagara-Orleans All-League boys basketball squad.

Roy-Hart which ended a 26 year drought in capturing the N-O title has placed senior Aiden Petrie and junior Jamel Johnson Jr.

Medina is represented by the senior duo of Jarin Rhim and Joe Cecchini.

Contributed Photo – Evan Myers, Newfane

Rounding out the first team is Newfane junior Evan Myers.

Petrie, who was named N-O Player of the Year, scored 335 points (18.6 average) and had 161 rebounds, 33 steals and 29 assists.

Johnson had 295 points (14.8 ave.), 207 rebounds, 71 steals and 66 assists.

Rhim scored 198 points (10.4 ave.) and had 171 rebounds, 48 assists and 26 steals.

Cecchini had 189 points (9.9 ave.), 104 rebounds, 43 steals and 34 assists.

Myers scored 263 points (13.8 ave.) and had 101 rebounds, 25 steals and 24 assists.

Five schools are represented on the second team including Albion senior Jahmeek Riley, Barker junior Brad Cantrell, Roy-Hart senior Vinny Buscarino, Newfane sophomore Landon Braman and Wilson senior Paul Smith.

The Honorable Mention selections, listed by school included:

Albion – Tyler Gibson (Sr.) and Caleb Fox (Jr.)

Akron – Andrew Romesser (Jr.) and Trace Hill (Soph.)

Barker – Nathan Meza Ray (Sr.)

Newfane – Connor Gunby (Sr.), Brady Harrington (Sr.) and Ben Dickinson (Soph.)

Wilson – Mason Branca (Sr.), Matt Fox (Jr.) and Jake Austin (Soph.)

Medina’s first team honorees Joe Cecchini, left, and Jarin Rhim.