Rosters set for N-O vs. G-R senior basketball twin bill

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 2 March 2016 at 12:00 am

Photos by Cheryl Wertman – Roy-Hart’s Emma Lindke and Kendall’s Jacob Ramsdell will be among the seniors competing in the annual Niagara-Orleans League vs. Genesee Region League doubleheader Friday at Albion.

The rosters have been set for the 17th annual Niagara-Orleans League vs. Genesee Region League senior basketball doubleheader which will be held on Friday at Albion.

The girls game is scheduled for 5 p.m. with the boys game to follow at 6:30 p.m.

A trio of players from champion Medina including Tyler Ames, Justin Morgan and Dylan Lewis, head the lineup for the N-O boys squad which also includes Manwell Taylor and Brady Meakin from Albion, Gates Abrams from Akron, Mike Snell from Barker, Juan Verdejo, Shaun Wilson and Jahleel Burks from CSAT, Chad Gilson from Newfane, Chris Anderson and Justin Heschke from Roy-Hart and Alex Fox and Andrew Eames from Wilson.

The Kendall duo of Jacob Ramsdell and Colton Breslawski, along with Holley’s Zach Vaccarelli, make up the local contingent for the G-R boys squad which also includes Richard Flores and John Hocmuth from Elba, Tyler Prospero, CJ Suozzi and Luca Zambito from Notre Dame, Allen Chatt and Trey Nadolinski from Oakfield-Alabama, Nick Perry from Attica, Josh Bradley from Alexander and Justin McLendon from Wheatland-Chili.

The lineup for the N-O girls squad includes Caitlyn Mason and Lindsey Williams from Barker, Emma Lindke from Roy-Hart, Ashley Mietz, Bailie Murty and Henryretta Jones from Akron, Surenaty Davis-Patterson and Chelsea Carrier from CSAT along with Serina Jaeger, Zipporah Barrett and Jodie Vincent from champion Wilson.

The roster for the G-R girls squad includes Aralyse Johnson from Pembroke, Alex Reigle from Elba, Hannah LaGrou and Kenydie Mott from Oakfield-Alabama, Taylor DiMartino from Notre Dame, Bethany Ezard from Byron-Bergen, Kierra Perl from Attica, Elizabeth Russell and Taylor Seilheimer from Wheatland-Chili along with Karli Phillips, Bret Stephens, Jayna Wright, Kali Wright and Stephanie McBride from Alexander.

The N-O holds an 11-5 lead in both the boys and girls series.

The N-O scored a sweep last year winning the girls game in a thriller 58-55 and the boys contest in a shootout 117-95.