Ridgeway Volunteer Fire Company presents awards during annual banquet

Photos by Ginny Kropf: The Executive Committee of Ridgeway Volunteer Fire Company is sworn in by David Green during the annual installation banquet Saturday night at Ridgeway Firemen’s Recreation Hall.

By Tom Rivers, Editor Posted 28 January 2019 at 6:21 pm

Harriet Petrie honored for 50 years in the Ladies Auxiliary

Orleans County Sheriff Randy Bower and Harriet Petrie share a hug after she was recognized for 50 years of active membership.

RIDGEWAY – A woman who has been an active member of the Ridgeway Fire Company’s Ladies Auxiliary for 50 years was among those honored Saturday night at the annual installation banquet at Ridgeway Firemen’s Recreation Hall.

Harriet Petrie received a cake, flowers, kudos and hugs from fire company and auxiliary members, as well as a citation from Assemblyman Stephen Hawley on behalf of the New York State Assembly.

“Service like hers is rare,” said Auxiliary president Tracey Hendrick, who also named Petrie as the Auxiliary Member of the Year. “Any time anyone needs her, Harriet is there.”

Harriet’s late husband Larry would also have been a 50-year member of the fire company this year, and it has been a tradition since his death for his family to present a gift in his memory to the fire company.

This year, they gave a set of four bar stools, as well as money for memorial flowers for the newborn baby of Glen and Valerie Busch, who have been active volunteers with the fire company.

David Green of East Shelby acted as master of ceremonies for the evening and installed Executive Committee officers.

They are president, Chantelle Kidney; vice president, April Fearby; treasurer, Samantha Raduns; secretary, Charlie Smith; directors, Francis Woodward, Joe Forder and Kyle Morgan; and sergeant-at-arms, Zach Blackburn.

The 2019 Fire Company officers of Ridgeway Volunteer Fire Company are sworn in by Dale Banker, director of Orleans County Emergency Management, at their banquet Saturday night.

Orleans County Emergency management director Dale Banker installed fire company officers for 2019.

They are chief, Patrick Kelly; deputy chief, Jason Bessel; 1st assistant chief, Kristin McAdoo; 2nd asst. chief, Matt Natale; captain, Tyler Luckman; lieutenant, Kyle Morgan; and fire police captain, Rick Harmer.

Ladies Auxiliary officers installed by Karen Kaiser are president, Tracey Hendrick; vice president, Melissa Hansler; treasurer/secretary, Joelle Brown; and chaplain, Harriet Petrie.

Ridgeway Fire Chief Jason Bessel, center, chose Captain Tyler Luckman, left, and Lt. Kyle Morgan as Firefighters of the Year.

McAdoo became the first women in the history of the fire department to serve in a chief’s position, when she was named 2nd asst. chief two years ago. This year she rose to 1st asst. chief.

She really isn’t aspiring to become chief, as she still has children at home and teaches full time at Brockport State College. And she knows the amount of time and dedication is required as chief.

A memorial service honored two members lost during the past year – Carol Palmer and Shelly DeHollander, as well as Hudson Busch, the newborn son of Glen and Valerie Busch.

Samantha Raduns receives the President’s Award from Charlie Smith for joining the fire company and stepping into the role of treasurer.

Charlie Smith chose Samantha Raduns as recipient of his President’s Award. When he walked in the bank where she worked and mentioned he had no one take over as treasurer, she joined the fire company and accepted the position.

Jason Bessel named two members as “Firefighters of the Year.” They are Tyler Luckman and Kyle Morgan.

Henry Charache was recognized by Bessel for all he does behind the scenes to benefit the fire company.

Certificates were presented for years of membership, with Darwin Sills being the longest standing member at 55 years. Gary Blackburn has been a member for 45 years, followed by William Bale and Jim Marciszewski with 40 years.

McAdoo and Bessel passed out certificates for hours of training. Members amassed a total of 186 hours of training.

Chantelle Kidney and Zach Blackburn completed the required 190-hour EMT course.

Tommy Rushing is a new EMT who successfully treated a woman whose knee had been dislocated. That procedure has just recently been approved for EMTs to perform.

Tracey Hendrick and Melissa Harmer presented a monetary donation to the fire company. She thanked the entire auxiliary for their willingness to step up when needed.

Return to top