Republicans have primaries in Carlton, Clarendon and Ridgeway

By Tom Rivers, Editor Posted 21 August 2013 at 12:00 am

Republicans in three towns will go to the polls on Sept. 10 to choose candidates for town offices. The winners of the primaries will be on the ballot for the Nov. 5 general election. Voting on Sept. 10 will be from noon to 9 p.m.

Carlton has the most Republican contests. Incumbent Town Clerk Pam Rush is being challenged by Lea Olles. Incumbent Dave Krull, the town highway superintendent, faces a challenge from Paul Snook, Sr. And for the Town Board, Bilal Huzair forced a primary against incumbents Joyce Harris and Jim Shoemaker. Republicans can back two of the three candidates.

In Clarendon, three people are running for two seats on the Town Board. The candidates include incumbent Paul Nicosia, Marc Major and Donna DeFilipps.

Ridgeway also has a primary for highway superintendent with incumbent Mark Goheen facing a challenge from Raymond Wendling.

There is one other primary for members of the Independence Party in the 144th Assembly District, which is mostly in Niagara and Erie counties. The district also includes the town of Shelby.

Independence Party members in the 144th district will elect three delegates to the 8th Judicial District Convention. The delegate candidates include Paul G. Colangelo, David J. Haylett, Scott R. Scheffler, Albert A. Festaiuti, William W. Rooney and Ryan B. Rooney.

Independence Party members in the 144th will also choose three alternate delegates for the convention. Those candidates include Richard L. Woll, John L. Ryan, Sean M. Nowicki, William A. Nemi, Michael E. Tucker and Frederick J. White.