Recalling the first Medina bowling tourney

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 9 September 2020 at 6:41 pm

Contributed Photo – Among the champions crowned at the Medina Mens Bowling Association’s inaugural tournament in 1955 was the St. Mary’s squad which captured the handicapped team event. From left are John Thaine, Sam Ranallo, Ed Richardson, Walter Tuohey and Leo Koneski.

Now that the Covid-19 restrictions have been eased enough to allow bowling competition to resume it is interesting to look back at the inaugural Medina Men’s Bowling Association Tournament in 1955.

The team events were held at Ranallo’s, which was then located on East Center Street. The singles and doubles events were held at Tate’s Lanes on North Main Street which burned in 1962 and is now the site of the Five Star Bank.

Izzy Bloom, who later became proprietor of Maple Ridge Lanes (now Medina Lanes) captured top honors in the singles division winning the scratch tittle with a 626 series and the handicap crown with a 674 total.

Babe Stornelli and Homer Ward teamed up to win the scratch doubles title with a 1157 total. The handicap doubles title went to the duo of Herb Kendall and Ed Cavers with a 1263 total.

Chet Potrubacz won the scratch All-Events title with a 1714 while Bob Breitsman took the handicap title with a 1911 total.

St. Mary’s claimed the handicap team title as the quintet of John Thaine, Sam Ranallo, Ed Richardson, Walter Tuohey and Leo Koneski combined for a 3081 total score.

The Al’s Gulf team of Breitsman, Milford Boyle, Jerry Morris, Ed Grinnell and Jim Moriarty captured the scratch team title with a 2719 total.

Association Secretary Keith Armstrong served as the tournament manager assisted by the tournament committee of Chairman Bob Hoffman, Tom Maryjanowski and Joe Natale.