RBM icers win to advance to sectional finals

Contributed Story Posted 17 February 2019 at 8:57 am

For the second night in a row, the Roy-Hart/Barker/Medina/Akron Club hockey team defeated Iroquois- Alden by the identical score of 6-1 on Saturday propelling the team back to the sectional club championship title game which they won last year.

This year’s title contest will be Monday evening, February 25th at the Key Bank Arena in Buffalo against ELPS (Eden- Lake Shore- Pioneer- Springville) beginning at 8 p.m.

Once again, RBM was able to combine all three aspects of the game in a winning effort against Iroquois-Alden.

The defense, again led by Tom Paisley (R-H), Colin Dodge (R-H), Jacob Harris (B) and Trevor Crawford (Ak), controlled the back part of the ice, while the excellent  goal tending by Andrew Warner (Tonawanda) stifled the Iroquois skaters the entire evening.

Offensively, RBM took the lead at the 12 minute point of the opening period on a power play goal by Dylan Krzykowski (Ak) with assists by Dominic Peracciny (R-H) and Jason Kuchey (R-H).  Iroquois tied the game shortly after, but Michael Kuchey answered back with a goal giving RBM the lead for good off assists from Peracciny and Dodge.

Two more goals were scored in the second period by Jason Kuchey from Michael Kuchey and Krzykowski and by Paisley from Michael Kuchey and Peracciny.

The scoring in the final period was by Michael Kuchey from Peracciny and Krzykowski, and Drew Marsh (Ak) from Michael Kuchey.