Rams, Mustangs dominate All-League team

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 16 June 2022 at 9:40 am

Photos by Cheryl Wertman – Roy-Hart’s first team All-League honorees include, from left, Brayden Hy, Thomas Russo and Ryan Mettler.

Co-champions Roy-Hart and Medina dominate the first team of the annual Niagara-Orleans League baseball squad by claiming 9 of the 11 positions.

Junior pitcher Thomas Russo, who has been named N-O Player of the Year, heads Roy-Hart’s large six member first team delegation which also includes senior infielder Ryan Mettler, senior outfielders Jay Heideman and John Conley, sophomore infielder Brayden Hy and sophomore utility player Ethan Kuzma.

Rounding out Roy-Hart’s first team honorees are John Conley, Jay Heideman and Ethan Kuzma.

Medina has placed the trio of senior pitcher Zach Fike, senior catcher Xander Payne and junior outfielder Aidan Paul.

Rounding out the first team are Albion junior infielder Amari Jones and Akron senior infielder Jack Klodzinski.

On the mound, Russo gave up only 4 earned runs and struck out 136. At the plate, he hit .417 with 6 doubles, 7 triples, 2 home runs and 36 RBIs.

Mettler hit .351 with 3 doubles 4 triples and 17 RBIs; Heideman .358 with 6 doubles, 1 triple, 1 home run and 21 RBIs; Conley .324 with 2 doubles, 8 RBIs and 34 stolen bases; Hy .487 with 12 doubles, 5 triples, 2 home runs and 33 RBIs and Kuzma .452 with 5 doubles and 18 RBIs.

Medina’s first team All-League honorees include, from left, Xander Payne, Zach Fike and Aidan Paul.

Fike went 10-1 on the mound with 121 strikeouts. At the plate he hit .375 with 10 doubles, 3 triples, 2 home runs and 25 RBIs.

Payne hit .400 with 12 doubles, 3 triples, 3 home runs and 14 RBIs. On the mound he went 5-1 with 56 strikeouts.

Paul hit .438 with 6 doubles, 2 triples, 1 home run and 23 RBIS. On the mound he went 6-2 with 122 strikeouts.

Jones hit .417 with 4 doubles, 1 triple, 1 home run. On the mound he went 4-2 with 69 strikeouts and also had 2 saves.

Klodzinski hit .500 with  9 RBIs, 16 runs and 14 stolen bases.

Rounding out the All-League first team are Akron’s Jack Klodzinski, left,  and Albion’s Amari Jones.

The second team honorees, listed by school, includes:

Akron – Sophomore catcher Andrew Romesser and sophomore infielder Dawson Stone

Albion – Senior infielder Tyler Gibson and junior catcher Javon Jones

Barker – Senior infielder Aidan Voss and senior outfielder Jaret Black

Medina – Senior infielder Joe Cecchini

Newfane – Senior infielder Brady Harrington

Wilson – Senior infielder Luke Atlas and freshman pitcher Tyler Johnston

The Honorable Mention selections, listed by school are as follows:

Akron – River White (Sr.) and Jeff Owen (Jr.)

Albion – Brendan LeBaron (Sr.)

Medina – Hayden Woodroe (Sr.), Julian Woodworth (Soph.) and Brody Fry ( Fr.)

Newfane – Gerhig Wilson (Sr.), Tyler Baes (Sr.) and Josh Snyder (Jr.)

Roy-Hart – Remington Albee (Jr.), Jake Gould (Soph.) and Dawson Draper (Soph.)