Rams and Tigers head N-O All-League team

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 9 June 2023 at 8:36 am

Photos by Cheryl Wertman – Niagara-Orleans League Player of the Year, Roy-Hart’s Thomas Russo III, is flanked here by first team All-League honorees, Aidan Paul (Medina), at left, and Amari Joes (Albion).

A quartet of Roy-Hart players and a trio of players from champion Akron head the first team of the annual Niagara-Orleans All-League baseball squad.

Senior pitcher/infielder Thomas Russo III, a three-time first team selection and a two-time N-O Player of the Year honoree, heads Roy-Hart’s contingent which also includes infielder Jake Gould and outfielders Brayden Hy and Dawson Draper, all juniors.

Akron’s honorees include senior infielder/pitcher Andrew Romesser, junior first baseman Dawson Stone and sophomore outfielder Vincent Consiglio.

Roy-Hart’s All League honorees also include, from left, Brayden Hy, Jake Gould and Dawson Draper.

Rounding out the first team are Medina senior pitcher Aidan Paul, Albion senior infielder/pitcher Amari Jones, Barker senior catcher/pitcher Aidan Voss and Wilson sophomore pitcher Tyler Johnston.

Paul and Hy are both repeat selections.

Russo had a big two-way season for the Rams. On the mound, he went 6-1 with a 0.35 era and 118 strikeouts. At the plate he hit .507 with 11 doubles, 5 triples, 3 home runs and 22 RBI.

Hy hit .452 with 8 doubles, 4 triples, 2 home runs and 24 RBI. He also went 3-1 on the mound with 44 strikeouts.

Akron’s first team honorees include, from left, Vincent Consiglio, Andrew Romesser and Dawson Stone.

Draper hit .299 with 7 doubles, 2 triples, 2 home runs and 22 RBI. He also posted a 4-1 record on the mound with 37 strikeouts.

Gould hit .253 with 6 doubles, 1 triple and 7 RBI. He went 2-0 on the mound with 31 strikeouts.

Romesser hit .408 with 1 double, 3 triples, 1 home run and 12 RBI. He also posted a 6-3 record on the mound with 55 strikeouts and a 2.40 era.

Stone hit .406 with 20 RBI and Consiglio .344 with 6 doubles, 2 triples and 17 RBI.

Wilson’s Tyler Johnston, left, and Barker’s Aidan Voss.

Paul registered a school record 140 strikeouts and had a 1.13 era. He also finished with a school record 308 career strikeouts. At the plate he hit .414 with 7 doubles, 1 triple, 2 home runs and 13 RBI.

Jones hit .314 with 6 RBI and registered 77 strikeouts with a 1.96 era on the mound.

Voss hit .357 with 5 doubles, 1 triple and 6 RBI. On the mound he had 63 strikeouts and a 2.15 era.

Johnston hit .340 with 4 doubles, 1 triple and 11 RBI. He had 97 strikeouts and a 1.42 era on the mound.

Medina had a quartet of second team selections including senior infielder Aiden Pitts, junior outfielder Julian Woodworth, sophomore first baseman Ryleigh Culver and eighth grader infielder Aidan Papaj.

Roy-Hart is represented by the junior duo of catcher Ethan Kuzma and first baseman Remington Albee.

Akron placed the sophomore duo of pitcher Aiden Romesser and outfielder Jack Julicher.

Newfane is represented by junior outfielder Ben Dickenson and freshman infielder Brayden Seitz.

Completing the second team are Albion senior infielder Javon Jones and Wilson junior pitcher Conner Ernest.

The Honorable Mention selections, as listed by school, are as follows:

Albion – Dallas Ecker (Sr.) and Jacob Hughson (Sr.)

Akron – Anthony Consiglio (So.)

Medina – Tyler Kroening (So.), Brody Fry (So.) and Richard Keppler (Jr.).

Newfane – Josh Snyder (Sr.) and Aiden Perry (So.)

Roy-Hart – Sean Mettler (Fr.) and Zach Walker (Sr.)

Wilson – Drew Dabill (Sr.), Aidan Winslow (Sr.), Matthew Stolzenberg (So.), John Ernest (Sr.) and Blake Simpson Jr. (Jr.)