Raiders will be an “Ironman 9” squad

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 19 March 2018 at 10:25 am

Photo by Mike Wertman – Everyone will see plenty of playing time as these nine players will comprise this season’s Barker varsity baseball team. In front are Shane Gerhardt, Collin Webb, Austin Sullivan and Dan Ober. In back are Preston Harris, Evan Ecker, John Costello, Logan Harris and Nick Brandt.

It will literally be an “Iron Man 9” for the Barker varsity baseball team this coming season as the Raiders are prepping for the Niagara-Orleans League campaign with a roster of only nine players.

“Our numbers are a bit low”,  said Coach Rob Mucha who lost 11 players from last spring’s second place (8-4) squad to graduation. “We do have some good field experience though and we’ve got some good hitters but pitching will be by committee.”

The Raiders lineup includes seniors Collin Webb (pitcher/outfield/catcher), Evan Ecker (shortstop/pitcher), John Costello (outfield) and Austin Sullivan (first base); juniors Dan Ober (outfield), Preston Harris (catcher/pitcher/shortstop) and Nick Brandt (third base/pitcher) along with freshmen Shane Gerhardt (infield/outfield/pitcher) and Logan Harris (second base).

Webb earned first team N-O All-League honors last spring.

The Raiders graduation losses included first team N-O All-League pitcher Eddie Wasnock along with second team honorees Ryan Voss (infield) and Kyle MacDonald (outfield) and Honorable Mention selections Chauncey McKee and Cam Fox.

Barker, which tied with Albion and Wilson for second place at 8-4 last spring just a game behind champion Roy-Hart (9-3) will begin tuning up for the N-O season by hosting Kendall on March 29. The Raiders league opener is slated for April 9 at Roy-Hart.

March: 29 – Kendall, 4:30 p.m.
April: 2 – Pembroke, 1 p.m.; 3 – Alexander, 1 p.m.; 5 – at Holley, 1 p.m.; 7 – at Lyndonville, 1 p.m.; 9 – at Roy-Hart, 4:45 p.m.; 11 – Albion, 4:45 p.m.; 13 – at Medina, 4:45 p.m.; 14 – CSAT, 1 p.m.; 17 – at Holland, 4:45 p.m.; 18 – at Akron, 4:45 p.m.; 20 – Wilson, 4:45 p.m.; 23 – Newfane, 4:45 p.m.; 25 – Roy-Hart, 4:45 p.m.; 27 – at Albion, 4:45 p.m.; 30 – Medina, 4:45 p.m.
May: 2 – Holley, 4:30 p.m.; 3 – Akron, 4:45 p.m.; 7 – at Wilson, 4:45 p.m.; 9 – at Newfane, 4:45 p.m.