Raiders top Purple Eagles to cap undefeated N-O title campaign

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 13 February 2014 at 12:00 am

Tigers down Mustangs; Rams best Eagles

Photo by Cheryl Wertman – Albion’s Manny Taylor (3) tries to get a shot off under the outstretched arm of Barker’s Bryce Moeller (13) during the Raiders win over the host Purple Eagles this evening.

Capping off a perfect 14-0 Niagara-Orleans League championship campaign and an 18-0 regular season, Barker rolled to a 81-52 victory over host Albion this evening.

Jacob Haight scored 21, Christopher Sweeney 20, Bryce Moeller 14 and Mitch Luckman 11 to lead the way for Barker which has earned its first title in 36 years..

Andrew Burroughs scored 11, Clayton Stanton 10, Austin Loyd 9, Ryan Fannin 8, Alex Bison 7 and Connor Barleben 6 for Albion which finishes the N-O season at 6-8.

Leading by a narrow 19-16 margin after one quarter, Barker began to pull away in the second period outpointing Albion 26-16 to extend the advantage to 45-32 at the half.

Photo by Cheryl Wertman – Albion’s Manny Thompson (14) lays the ball in against Barker defender Tristan Payne (20).

Moeller had five buckets from close range, including a slam dunk, to lead that Raiders uprising which also included seven points by Haight and a three and a rebound bucket by Sweeney. Sweeney and Haight also each scored eight in the opening quarter.

Keeping the momentum, Barker then used a 20-10 third period scoring edge to pull away to a commanding 23 point, 65-42, advantage at the three-quarter mark. Haight, Sweeney and Luckman each had a pair of buckets in the quarter as the Raiders dominated on the break and on the boards.

The championship season is the first since 1978 when Barker earned a Genesee Region League division title. It is also the first N-O championship for the Raiders since 1945.

Photo by Cheryl Wertman – Moeller goes up for a dunk over Albion’s Des Blackmon (21).

Akron 50, Medina 40
Jumping out to a 22-10 halftime advantage, Akron went on to defeat a cold shooting visiting Medina squad 50-40 avenging an earlier season 24 point ,59-35, loss.

Noah Dieble took game high scoring honors for Akron with 22.

Cedric Griffith had 12 and Jason Hellwig and Justin Morgan 10 each for Medina which for the second game in a row played without scoring leader Munjie Brown who was involved in a car accident on Tuesday..

The Mustangs finish the N-O season at 9-5 and the Tigers at 2-12.

Roy-Hart 67, CSAT 57
Alex Stoddard poured in 27 points to spark Roy-Hart to the 67-57 victory over visiting CSAT.

Cody Breedlove added 14 and DaRon Woods 11 for Roy-Hart which rebounded from a one point halftime deficit.

Roy-Hart winds up the N-O season nat 8-6 and CSAT at 7-7.

Newfane 53, Wilson 46
Kyle Burdick scored 23, Josh Kneeland 18 and Sean Costello 11 for Newfane which downed rival Wilson 53-46.

Kyle Bradley led Wilson with 14.

Newfane held leads of 10-6 after one quarter, 22-17 at the half and 39-33 at the three-quarter mark.

Newfane finishes the N-O season at 6-8 and Wilson at 4-10.