R-H/Barker/Medina icers claim tourney title

Contributed Story Posted 27 December 2019 at 6:55 pm

Contributed Photo – Roy-Hart/Barker/Medina players celebrate today’s tournament championship game victory. In front is goalie Andrew Warner. In the front row are Andrew Downey, Matthew Miller, Joel Harris, Dayton Ruppel, Trevor Crawford, Jason Kuchey and Nick Wood. In back are Tagen Decker, Elijah Giroux, Reed Winslow, Ryan Mettler, Jake Harris, Colin Dodge, Dominic Peracciny, Mitchell Johnson and Conner McNeil.

The Roy-Hart/Barker/Medina Club Hockey team won the Club Christmas Tournament with a 6-3 victory over Eden-Lake Shore- Pioneer- Springville at the Cheektowaga Ice Arena this morning.

Falling behind 1-0 in the opening period, RBM pulled even as Colin Dodge (R-H) scored off assists from Dominic Peracciny (R-H) and Tourney MVP Jason Kuchey (R-H).

RBM scored three times in the next period to take the lead for good.  Peracciny scored unassisted, Nick Wood (Akron) from Dodge and Ryan Mettler (R-H) from Dodge and Peracciny giving the locals a 4-3 lead.

In the third period, RBM iced the game on goals from Joel Harris (B) and Wood, with assists coming from Peracciny (2) and Dodge once again.

RBM returns to league action Saturday evening with a critical game against City Honors/Cardinal O’Hara, the only team to beat them in league competition this season.  That game is at Cornerstone Arena at 7:40 p.m..