A quartet of repeat honorees leads the way on the annual N-O All-League volleyball team

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 10 November 2016 at 5:09 pm

Photos by Cheryl Wertman – Chanyce Powell, left, and Emilie Barleben represent Albion on the first team of the Niagara-Orleans All-League volleyball squad.

Four repeat selections head the first team of the annual Niagara-Orleans All-League volleyball squad.

Albion senior Chanyce Powell, a three-time first team honoree, heads that quartet which also includes Medina’s Emily Kams, Roy-Hart’s Bea Bacon and Akron’s Taydem Printup, all seniors.

Rounding out the first team are Albion senior Emilie Barleben and Akron sophomore Darion Jonathan.


Contributed Photos Darion Jonathan  and Taydem Printup represent undefeated (10-0) champion Akron on the first team.

Powell had 256 spiking kills, 182 digs, 82 blocks and 40 service aces this season for Albion while Barleben had 185 assists, 166 digs, 43 kills and 34 aces.

Printup had 146 kills, 49 aces and 203 digs and Jonathan 150 kills, 42 aces and 218 digs for undefeated (10-0) N-O champion Akron.

Kams had 169 assists, 137 digs, 59 kills and 45 aces for Medina.

Bacon, who averaged 12 kills per match, had 99 service points, 35 aces and 26 blocks in N-O competition.

Roy-Hart has two second team selections in senior Brianna Brewer and junior Olivia Vorholzer.

The second team also includes Medina senior Molley Gross, Akron junior Sharrah Jonathan, Wilson junior Raechel Blasius and Newfane sophomore Faith Morgan.

Receiving Honorable Mention are junior Caitlyn Snook from Albion, sophomores Je’ne Brown and Maddie Williams from Medina, junior Skyler Christopher and sophomore Aspen Moore from Roy-Hart, senior Megan Froman and sophomore Mackenzie Perry from Newfane along with sophomore Jennifer Myers, 8th grader Madelyn Seeley and freshman Sarah Nugent from Wilson.


Photos by Cheryl Wertman – Medina’s Emily Kams, left, and Roy-Hart’s Bea Bacon