Purple Eagles earn B3 football All-Star honors

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 15 November 2019 at 5:34 pm

Photo by Cheryl Wertman – Albion first team B3 Division All-Stars include, in front, Deyonci Farley, Cody Wilson and Michael DiCureia. In back are Kevin Hillman, Brillance Johnson, Thomas Furmanski and Tyray White.

B3 Division champion Albion has placed seven players on the first team of the division’s All-Star football squad.

The Purple Eagles are represented by quarterback/punter Thomas Furmanski, running backs Brillance Johnson and Tyray White, wide receiver Kevin Hillman, linebacker Deyonci Farley and linemen Michael DiCureia and Cody Wilson, all seniors.

Johnson was also named B3 Division Offensive Player of the Year.

Furmanski passed for 10 touchdowns, ran for 4 and kicked 2 field goals. Hillman hauled in 7 of those TD aerials.

White had 9 rushing touchdowns while Johnson and Farley both had 6.

Albion has placed five players on the second team including sophomore defensive end Jahmeek Riley, junior offensive linemen Will Freeman and Cameron Bell, junior wide receiver Bailey Blanchard and junior defensive back Chris Shabazz.

Three Purple Eagles received Honorable Mention including senior Bryce Kelly, junior Anthony Freeman and sophomore Tyler Gibson.