Purple Eagles duo earns first team N-O All-League tennis honors

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 11 June 2024 at 9:06 am

Photos by Cheryl Wertman – Albion’s first team Niagara-Orleans All-League honorees Leo Bolton and Mark Ames.

Undefeated (12-0) champion Albion has placed two singles players on the first team of the Niagara-Orleans All-League tennis squad.

The Purple Eagles are represented by junior Leo Bolton who played first singles and senior Mark Ames who played second singles.

Bolton is a three-time first team honoree while Ames was a second team selection last year.

Albion has also placed senior Jordan Marshall and freshman Landon Graybill on the second team as senior Jason Anstey and junior Oliver Beach have both earned Honorable Mention.

The All-League first team also includes senior Lucas DerSarkissian and sophomore Daniel Goodwin from Barker; senior Cole Fleming and junior Sammy Niescier from Akron, senior Aubriana Christiano and junior Tyler Goff Brown from Wilson and senior Luke Gunby from Newfane who was named N-O Player of the Year.

The second team also includes junior Allie Trombley and sophomore Tyler Rothwell from Roy-Hart; junior Aubri Baltzley and sophomore Whitley Koopman from Akron; junior Avery Nedelko and freshman Lilly Gurski from Wilson and freshman River Jones from Medina.

The Honorable Mention selections also include senior Angel Mulcahy and junior Logan Trillizio from Medina; sophomores Kaylie Churchill and Garret Glyshaw from Roy-Hart; freshmen Shelby Robinson and Tessa Guenther from Wilson, senior Ava Blochwitz and junior Kia Lafromboise from Akron and freshman Dylan Lamont from Newfane.