Primary Day arrives in Orleans

By Tom Rivers, Editor Posted 10 September 2013 at 12:00 am

Republicans in 3 towns will pick candidates

Republicans in Carlton, Clarendon and Ridgeway will go to the polls today to choose candidates for town offices. Voting will be from noon to 9 p.m. The winners today will appear on the ballot for the Nov. 5 general election.

Carlton has the most Republican contests. Incumbent Town Clerk Pam Rush is being challenged by Lea Olles. Incumbent Dave Krull, the town highway superintendent, faces a challenge from Paul Snook, Sr. And for the Town Board, Bilal Huzair forced a primary against incumbents Joyce Harris and Jim Shoemaker. Republicans can back two of the three candidates.

Voting is at the Town Hall, 14341 Waterport-Carlton Rd.

In Clarendon, three people are running for two seats on the Town Board. The candidates include Marc Major, Donna DeFilipps and incumbent Paul Nicosia. Voting is at the Town Hall, 16385 Church St.

Ridgeway also has a primary for highway superintendent with incumbent Mark Goheen facing a challenge from Raymond Wendling. Voting is at Town Hall, 410 West Ave., and the Ridgeway Volunteer Fire Company, 11392 Ridge Rd.

There is one other primary for members of the Independence Party in the 144th Assembly District, which is mostly in Niagara and Erie counties. The district also includes the town of Shelby.

Independence Party members in the 144th district will elect three delegates to the 8th Judicial District Convention. The delegate candidates include Paul G. Colangelo, David J. Haylett, Scott R. Scheffler, Albert A. Festaiuti, William W. Rooney and Ryan B. Rooney.

Independence Party members in the 144th will also choose three alternate delegates for the convention. Those candidates include Richard L. Woll, John L. Ryan, Sean M. Nowicki, William A. Nemi, Michael E. Tucker and Frederick J. White.