Polls open today for Republican, Democratic presidential primaries

By Tom Rivers, Editor Posted 2 April 2024 at 9:42 am

Former President Donald Trump and President Joe Biden are the front-runners for the Republican and Democratic nominations, respectively.

Polls are open throughout Orleans County today for presidential primaries that don’t have much drama.

Both front-runners, Donald Trump for Republicans and Joe Biden for Democrats, have locked up their respective party’s nomination.

Polls opened at 6 a.m. and will close at 9 p.m. at 11 sites in the county. Those locations include:

  • Albion – Districts 1 through 6 – Hoag Library, 134 South Main St.
  • Barre – Districts 1 and 2 – Town Hall, 14317 West Barre Rd.
  • Carlton – Districts 1 through 3 – Carlton Fire Co. Rec Hall, 1853 Oak Orchard Rd.
  • Clarendon – Districts 1 through 3 – Town Hall, 16385 Church St.
  • Gaines – Districts 1 through 4 – Town Hall, 14087 Ridge Rd.
  • Kendall – Districts 1 through 3 – Town Hall, 1873 Kendall Rd.
  • Murray – Districts 1 through 6 – Murray Town Hall, 3840 Fancher Rd. (Route 31)
  • Ridgeway – Districts 1, 3, 6, 7 – Ridgeway Volunteer Fire Company, 11392 Ridge Rd.
  • Ridgeway – Districts 2, 4, 5 – Town Hall, 410 West Ave.
  • Shelby – Districts 1 through 4 – Town Hall, 4062 Salt Works Rd.
  • Yates – Districts 1 and 2 – Town Hall, 8 South Main St.

As of 9:20 a.m. today, 69 people cast ballots this morning, in a low turnout thus far, said Mike Mele, the Republican election commissioner.

There were also 149 votes cast in eight days of early voting.

The ballots in the primary in New York State will include Biden and Trump, as well as other names who ended their campaigns after the state’s filing deadlines.

For the Democratic Party, besides Biden the ballot includes Marianne Williamson and Dean Phillips.

For the Republican Party, in addition to Trump, the ballot includes Vivek Ramaswamy, Chris Christie and Nikki Haley.

The Democratic primary also four delegates from the 24th Congressional District for the National Convention: Dia Carabajal, Daniel Farfaglia, Lorie Longhany and John Hurley.

The 24th District in Orleans includes Albion, Barre, Clarendon districts 2 and 3, Ridgeway and Shelby.

In the 25th District, there are seven candidates to be delegates for the National Convention. Voters will elect four from the seven. Those candidates include Shelly Clements, Anthony Plonczynski-Figueroa, Yversha Roman, Jamie Romeo, Adam Bello, Samra Brouk and Stephen Gregory Devay.

The 25th District in Orleans includes Carlton, Clarendon district 1, Gaines, Kendall, Murray and Yates.