Panthers win tourney to retain N-O mat title

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 22 January 2017 at 8:52 am

Newfane locked up a fourth straight championship by taking top honors at the Niagara-Orleans All-League wrestling tournament held Saturday at Akron.

Newfane, which went 5-0 in the dual match portion of the season, garnered 229 points to win the tournament.

Akron, which went 4-1 during the regular season, finished in second place with 183.5 points followed by Albion 154.5, Wilson 121, Barker/Roy-Hart 106 and Medina 65.

Newfane was led by a quartet of individual weight class champions including Andrew Lucinski (99), Ryan Nugent (106), Zach Brown (132) and Ty Casinelli (285).

In their title matches Lucinski pinned Medina’s Travis Wiseman in 5:38; Nugent pinned Akron’s Josh Cummings in 3:04; Brown pinned Albion’s Preston Flugel in 1:38 and Casinelli decisioned Wilson’s Frank Dispenza 4-3.

Akron likewise had four champions including Johnathan Fieblekorn (145), Robbie PeQueen (160), Jacob Sarow (170) and Brady Jensen (182).

In the finals Fieblekorn decisioned Newfane’s Charlie Johnstone 8-2; PeQueen scored a 16-0 technical fall over Albion’s Jessy Cruz; Sarow decisioned Newfane’s Julian Nixon 3-2 and Jensen decisioned his Akron teammate Millard Young 3-1 in sudden victory.

Barker/Roy-Hart had a trio of champions including Brent Bachman (126),  Nick Fazzolari (195) and Ben Schwab (220).

The title matches saw Bachman decision Newfane’s Nick Voelker 5-0; Fazzolari pinn Akron’s Greiner in 1:54 and Schwab decision Wilson’s Matthew Lange 4-0.

Albion had a pair of champions in Tim Wells (138) and Blake Aina (152).

Wells had a pin and a technical fall win before pinning Newfane’s Allan Lingle in 1:29 in his title bout. Aina registered two pins before scoring a narrow 7-6 decision win over Tyler Choate of Barker/Roy-Hart in the finals.

Rounding out the list of champions are Medina’s Colby Petrie (113) and Wilson’s Jacob Sanborn (120).

Petrie scored pins in his first two matches and then decisioned Newfane’s Josh Everett 5-0 in the finals. Sanborn decisioned his Wilson teammate 5-2 in the finals.

Newfane had five third place finishers in Adam Huntington (99), Camden Rowles (106), Luke Tice (113), Derek Holmes (120) and Jonas Cummings (138).

Albion had a quartet of third place finishers in Ugene Harrison (145), Sam Slick (170), Donamic Farley (195) and Myles Brewer (220).

The third place finishers also included Kevin Hoover (152), Anthony Dispenza (160) and Aaron Welch (182) from Wilson; Thomas Fischer (126) and Gage Baumier (138) from Akron and Da’John Brown (285) from Medina.