Panthers surge in second half to down Mustangs completing 12-0 N-O title season

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 16 February 2023 at 8:57 pm

Photos by Cheryl Wertman – Medina’s Trevon Shine tries for a layup against Newfane defenders Nate Snow (1) and Evan Myers (23) during the Mustangs loss to the visiting Panthers this evening.

Pulling away in the third quarter, Newfane went on to defeat host Medina 68-57 this evening to complete a perfect 12-0 Niagara-Orleans League boys basketball championship season.

Leading by a narrow two point, 25-23, margin early in the third quarter, Newfane put together a 9-0 run, including five by Evan Meyers and 4 by Ben Dickinson, to ignite the Panthers decisive surge.

Keeping the momentum, the Panthers then put together a big 15-4 run later in the period to open up an 18 point, 49-31, lead. Konner Courtemanche and Luke Emmons each had 5 to lead that uprising.

In all, Newfane outpointed Medina 24-13 in the decisive period which ended with the Panthers up by 15, 49-34.

The Panthers went on to lead by as many as 22, 62-40, midway through the final period.

Newfane grabbed a 15-12 lead at the end of the first period but Medina rallied back into a 20-20 tie late in the second quarter after a pair of threes by Preston Woodworth.

However, the Mustangs could not take the lead as Newfane answered with a three and a layup by Myers to regain the lead for good at 25-20.

Myers finished with 14, Dickinson 13, Nate Snow 12 and Landon Bramon 9 to lead Newfane’s balanced attack.

Aiden Pitts took game high honors with 19 for Medina as Woodworth added 13, Cayden Lilleby and Roosevelt Mitchell 8, Trevon Shine 5 and Cole Callard 4. Shine, a freshman, and Woodworth, an eighth grader, were both brought up from the JV ranks this week.

Medina finishes the N-O season at 1-11.

Medina’s Preston Woodworth puts up a three point shot as Landon Bramon defends for Newfane.

Wilson 63, Barker 54
Breaking away from a 49-49 deadlock, Wilson outscored host Barker 14-5 in the decisive fourth quarter to claim a 63-54 N-O victory.

Logan Wolfe scored 15 and Mike Bubar and Blake Martin each added 14 to lead the way for Wilson which finishes the N-O season at 5-7.

Luey Castro scored 17, Aidan Voss 13 and Brad Cantrell 10 for Barker which winds up the N-O campaign at 3-9.

Final N-O Standings: Newfane 12-0, Roy-Hart 8-4, Albion 7-5, Akron 6-6, Wilson 5-7, Barker 3-9, Medina 1-11.