Panther harriers sweep to N-O titles

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 27 October 2018 at 6:40 pm

Contributed Photo – Members of the Niagara-Orleans League All-League boys cross-country team, in order of their finish, includes, from right to left, Austin Burkhard (Newfane), Robert Stevenson (Newfane), Peter DiLorenzo (Barker), Casey Zuba (Akron), William Schwarzmueller (Wilson), Alan Lingle (Newfane) and Ozzy Moore (Roy-Hart).

Contributed Photo – The N-O girls All-League first team, in order of finish, includes, from right to left, Kim Goerss (Newfane), Anna Rickard (Roy-Hart), Alanna Holman (Albion), Catalina Ersing (Newfane), Vanessa Burkard (Newfane), Lauren Wagner (Akron) and Lydia Chunco (Newfane).

Keeping the momentum from undefeated (6-0) regular seasons, Newfane captured top honors at the annual All-League meet today at Lakeside Beach State Park to lock up the Niagara-Orleans League boys and girls cross-country titles.

The Newfane boys garnered 28 points to win the meet as Wilson was second with 65 followed by Barker 75, Akron 100, Roy-Hart 108 and Medina 164.

The Lady Panthers likewise took first place with 25 points as Akron was a distant second with 75 followed by Barker 82, Albion 91, Roy-Hart 129, Medina 145 and Wilson 165.

Newfane’s duo of Austin Burkard (17:31.8) and Robert Stevenson finished 1-2 to lead the Panthers.

Barker’s Peter DiLorenzo finished third, Akron’s Casey Zuba fourth, Wilson’s William Schwarzmueller fifth, Newfane’s Alan Lingle sixth and Roy-Hat’s Ozzy Moore seventh to round out the first All-League team.

The second All-League team includes Newfane’s Nick Baes (8th), Nathan Moran (11th), Connor Cuzzacrea (13th) and Andrew Cuzzacrea (14th) along with Barker’s Dominic Clementi (9th), Wilson’s Jonathan Moote (10th) and Albion’s Reuben Rivers (12th).

The Honorable Mention runners include Wilson’s Michael Seeley (15th), Roy-Hart’s William Rickard (16th), Wilson’s Alexander Martinez (17th), Newfane’s Gannon Gibson (18th), Akron’s Zachary Sanford (19th), Newfane’s Matthew Pusateri (20th) and Newfane’s Alden Gibson (21st).

Newfane’s Kim Goerss successfully defended her title by winning the girls race in 19:35.9 as Roy-Hart’s Anna Rickard placed second and Albion’s Alanna Holman third.

Newfane’s trio of Catalina Ersing (4th), Vanessa Burkard (5th) and Lydia Chunco (7th) along with Akron’s Lauren Wagner (6th) completes the first All-League team.

The second All-League team includes Newfane’s quartet of Marina Ersing (8th), Leah Siegmann (9th), Nina Burkard (12th) and Shelby Nerber (13th) along with the Akron duo of Madison Jimerson (10th) and Kaila Szczygielski (11th) and Barker’s Lucinda Ingro (14th).

The Honorable Mention runners include Akron’s Kayla Murray (15th), Barker’s Lydia Samson (16th), Barker’s Haleigh Mason (17th), Barker’s Gabby Baker (18th), Roy-Hart’s Kelsey Ciemny (19th), Albion’s Malory Adams (20th) and Albion’s Emma Mathes (21st).