Orleans Dems keep leadership team

Photo by Tom Rivers: Jeanne Crane, chairwoman of the Orleans County Democratic Party, is pictured on Oct. 28, 2017 with Comptroller Tom DiNapoli during an event at QWL in Albion.

By Tom Rivers, Editor Posted 20 September 2018 at 5:09 pm

ALBION – The Orleans County Democratic Party Committee met on Wednesday evening at Hoag Library and re-elected its leadership team, including Jeanne Crane as chairwoman.

Crane has been active in the local Democratic Party leadership for the past 40 years.

“I am a people-person and I love to travel so this has taken me to many conventions such as a delegate for Obama’s second term and at Hillary’s nomination for President,” Crane said today. “I enjoy the interaction with fellow Democrats across the state and have made many long lasting friendships.”

Crane also serves as a board member for the Democratic Rural Conference. She credited the late Teresa Martillotta for being her mentor.

Other party leaders re-elected include Darlene Rich, vice chairwoman; Jeff Lewis, vice chairman; Agnes Recco, secretary; Sandra Walter, treasurer; Jeanne Crane and Ted Swiercznski, State Committee members from the 139th Assembly District; Darlene Rich, State Committee member from 144th Assembly District; and Jason Dragon, webmaster.

“We are constantly trying to energize the Democrats in Orleans by encouraging participation on our committee and running for local and state offices,” Crane said. “We feel the energy going forward with Nate McMurray running for the 27th Congressional District. It won’t be easy, but we are encouraged.”

Return to top