Orleans County election results: Sidonio wins in Murray, Napoli re-elected in Ridgeway

By Tom Rivers, Editor Posted 5 November 2019 at 11:04 pm

The Town of Murray has a new town supervisor with Joe Sidonio receiving 527 votes today and with early voting. There were also 421 write-in votes for town supervisor. Bob Miller, the incumbent, mounted a write-in campaign after Sidonio won a close Republican primary.

Sidonio’s lead is insurmountable. Board of Elections officials said there were 78 absentees ballots taken out in Murray with 69 back so far. They will be counted on Nov. 19.

Murray was one of three towns with a contested race for town supervisor. In barre, Sean Pogue, the incumbent, received 360 votes to 272 for Gerald Solazzo.

Ridgeway had three candidates running for town supervisor. Brian Napoli, the incumbent, received 833 votes to 187 for Michael Maak and 117 for David Stalker.

Dale Root also was elected highway superintendent in Shelby, defeating incumbent Michael Fuller, 551-454.

Orleans County had all seven county legislators up for election. Only Don Allport of Gaines had a challenger. He received 87.8 percent of the vote, 5,279 votes, to 722 for Chase Tkach, who ran as a Libertarian Party candidate.

Here is a list of the results:

(R = Republican, D = Democrat, C = Conservative, I = Independence, L = Libertarian, WF = Working Families)

Orleans County (8,064 ballots)

Sheriff: Chris Bourke (R, C, I), 5,693; write-in, 1,570

County Legislator At Large, West: Merle “Skip” Draper (R), 5,504

County Legislator At Large, Central (pick 1): Donald Allport (R), 5,279; Chase Tkach (L), 722

County Legislator At Large, East: John DeFilipps (R), 5,374

District # 1 (2,338 ballots): William Eick (R), 1,627

District # 2 (1,857 ballots): Lynne Johnson (R), 1,283

District #3 (1,606 ballots): Fred Miller (D), 852

District #4 (2,263 ballots): Kenneth DeRoller (R), 1,640

Town of Albion (969 ballots)

Town Supervisor: Richard Remley (R), 710

Councilperson (pick 2): Darlene Benton (D), 489; Terry Wilbert (D), 439

Town Clerk: Sarah Basinait (R), 734

Highway Superintendent: Michael Neidert (D, R), 826

Town of Barre (645 ballots)

Town Supervisor (pick 1): Sean Pogue (R, I), 360; Gerald Solazzo (Citizens for Change), 272

Town Councilperson (pick 2): Margaret Swan (R, I), 307; Kerri Richardson (C, Citizens for Change), 296; Cindy Burnside (Citizens for Change), 270; LuAnn Tierney (D), 237; and Bradlee Driesel (R, I), 105

Town Clerk: Maureen Beach (D), 362

Town Justice: Rick Root (D), 351

Highway Superintendent: Dale Brooks (R), 436

Town of Carlton (646 ballots)

Town Supervisor: Gayle Ashbery (R), 457; write-in, 9

Town Councilperson (pick 2): Dana Woolston (R), 466; John Fitzak (R), 453; write-in, 6

Town Justice: Patricia Russell (R), 459

Town of Clarendon (865 ballots)

Town Supervisor: Richard Moy (R), 647

Town Councilperson: Bruce Hovey (R), 630; Allen Robinson (R), 601

Town Clerk: Susan Colby (R), 686

Town Justice: Thomas DiFante (R), 620

Highway Superintendent (pick 1): Tracy Bruce Chalker (R, C, Non Affiliated Party), 580; Robert Freida (Community Service), 254

Town of Gaines (637 ballots)

Town Supervisor: Joseph Grube (R), 389; write-in, 23

Town Councilperson (pick 2): Ronald Mannella (R), 405; Mary Neilans (C), 338; Corey Black (R), 283; and Kenneth Capurso (L), 78

Highway Superintendent: Mark Radzinski (R), 465

Town of Kendall (613 ballots)

Town Supervisor: Anthony Cammarata (R), 491

Town Councilperson (pick 2): Barbara Flow (R), 503; Margaret Lynn Szozda (D), 232

Highway Superintendent: Warren Kruger (R), 498

Town of Murray (1,004 ballots)

Town Supervisor: Joseph Sidonio (R, C, I), 527; write-in, 421

Town Councilperson (pick 2): Neil Valentine (R, C), 714; Lloyd Chirst, Jr. (R), 544; and Dirk Lammes, Jr. (C, I), 301

Town of Ridgeway (1,181 ballots)

Town Supervisor (pick 1): Brian Napoli (R, Ridgeway Reform), 833; Michael Maak (D), 187; and David Stalker (C), 117

Town Councilperson (pick 2): Mary Woodruff (R), 868; Duane Payne (R), 821

Town Justice: Joseph Kujawa (R), 981

Highway Superintendent: John Olinger (R, Friends of John W. Olinger), 922

Town of Shelby (1,026 ballots)

Town Supervisor: Edward Houseknecht (R), 735

Town Councilperson (pick 2): John Pratt III (R), 728; Jeffrey Smith (R), 697

Town Clerk: Darlene Rich (D), 711

Town Justice (pick 1): Dawn Keppler (R), 780; Mark Wambach (C, WF), 143

Highway Superintendent (pick 1): Dale Root (R, C), 551; Michael Fuller (D), 454

Town of Yates (478 ballots)

Town Supervisor: James Simon (R), 347, write-in, 12

Town Councilperson (pick 2): John Riggi (R), 319; Susan Hrovat (R), 316, write-in, 21

Town Clerk: Michele Harling (R), 403

Highway Superintendent: Roger Wolfe (R), 397, write-in, 9

State Supreme Court Justice 8thJudicial District

(8,064 ballots – Pick 3): Gerald Whelan (D, R, C, WF and I), 5,867; Deborah Haendiges (D, R, C), 5,644; Gerald Greenan (R, C, SAM), 4,524; and Diane Devlin (D, WF, I), 1,833.

Return to top