NY will insist on quarantine for people coming from states with high Covid-19 infections

By Tom Rivers, Editor Posted 24 June 2020 at 12:26 pm

Gov. Andrew Cuomo announced today that people coming to the state will have to do 14 days of self quarantine if they are from states with high Covid-19 infection rates.

Those states include Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina, Washington, Utah and Texas.

These are states have a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents over a 7-day rolling average or they are states with a 10% or higher positivity rate over a 7-day rolling average.

Those states on the quarantine list could be removed and others added depending on how the infection rates change.

Cuomo made the announcement at a press conference with New Jersey Gov. Phil Murphy and Connecticut Gov. Ned Lamont. The three states are joining in requiring people to self quarantine if they are from the affected states.

Cuomo said the three states have pushed for more than three months to lower their infection rates and don’t want to see their Covid-19 numbers spike.

“We worked very hard to get the viral transmission rate down and we don’t want to see it go up,” Cuomo said. “Hopefully we’ll continue to see the numbers go down and the economic activity go up.”

Murphy, the New Jersey governor, said, “We have taken our people through hell and back. The last thing we want to do is have this thing flare up.”

Cuomo said people who violate the self quarantine could be fined $2,000 for the first offense, $5,000 for the second offense and up to $10,000 if they are found to have harmed others by spreading the infection.

Return to top