NY adds 3 more states as well as DC, Puerto Rico to travel advisory

By Tom Rivers, Editor Posted 28 July 2020 at 11:46 am

Gov. Andrew Cuomo announced today that three more states – Illinois, Kentucky and Minnesota – have been added to a list where travelers need to self quarantine for 14 days when they come to New York.

The expanded list also includes Washington, D.C. and Puerto Rico.

There are now 34 states on the travel advisory. These are states that have a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents over a 7-day rolling average or they are states with a 10% or higher positivity rate over a 7-day rolling average.

The states on the list now include: Alaska, Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Iowa, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Missouri, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington and Wisconsin.

Cuomo said New York continues to keep its infection rate at about 1 percent, which is “great news” but he remains concerned about travelers from states with high infection rates.

Cuomo also said local governments need to enforce compliance with social distancing, mask wearing and crowd sizes to keep Covid-19 from spreading in the state.

He also shared that there were 81 people in the state who needed to be intubated in hospitals due to Covid-19, which is the lowest number since mid-March.

Of the 57,397 tests reported on Monday, 534 were positive or 0.93% of the total. Total hospitalizations are at 648, and 9 people died from Covid-19 on Monday.

Return to top