Newfane sweeps at N-O All-League meet

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 28 October 2017 at 6:03 pm

Contributed Photos – The top seven finishers at today’s annual All-League meet at Lakeside Beach State Park comprise the first team of the Niagara-Orleans All-League squad. They include, from left, champion Samuel Auernhamer (Newfane), Collin McCabe (Newfane), Peter DiLorenzo (Barker), Ozzy Moore (Roy-Hart), Alden Cayea (Medina), William Schwarzmueller (Wilson) and Alan Lingle (Newfane).

The top seven finishers in the girls race, which comprise the All-League first team, include, from left, champion Kim Goerss (Newfane), Margo Henley (Akron), Alanna Holman (Albion), Nina Burkard (Newfane), Anna Rickard (Roy-Hart), Gabrielle Baker (Barker) and Vanessa Burkard (Newfane).

Sweeping top individual and team honors, the Newfane boys and girls both scored victories at the annual All-League meet today at Lakeside Beach State Park to complete undefeated (12-0) Niagara-Orleans championship cross-country seasons.

The Newfane boys bested four-time defending champion Barker to claim the N-O crown for the first time since 2005. The Panthers garnered 32 points to win the meet as the Raiders finished in the runner-up spot with 56. Wilson took third with 90 points followed by Medina 115, Akron 124, Roy-Hart 140 and Albion 177.

The Panthers were led by the 1-2 finish of Samuel Auernhamer and Collin McCabe. Auernhamer, who took first place honors  by 8 seconds over his teammate with a time of 17:11, also won the race in 2015.

Rounding out the top 7 finishers, which comprises the All-League first team, were Peter DiLorenzo (Barker), Ozzy Moore (Roy-Hart), Alden Cayea (Medina), William Schwarzmueller (Wilson) and Alan Lingle (Newfane).

The All-League second team (the 8-14 finishers) includes, in order of their finish, Daniel Heil (Medina), Andrew Jenks (Barker), Noah Thornton (Newfane), Casey Zuba (Akron), Austin Burkard (Newfane), Aidan O’Shea (Barker) and Dominic Clementi (Barker).

The Newfane girls made it three championship seasons in a row by besting Albion for top All-League meet honors. The Lady Panthers, which had 5 of the top 9 individual finishers, won the meet with 29 points as the Purple Eagles finished in the runner-up spot with 60 followed by Roy-Hart 94, Akron 96, Barker 132, Wilson 133 and Medina 152.

Newfane’s Kim Goerss was the meet’s individual champion for the third year in a row crossing the finish line in a time of 20:17 to edge out Akron’s Margo Henley by less than two seconds.

Albion’s Alanna Holman finished third followed by Nina Burkard (Newfane),  Anna Rickard (Roy-Hart), Gabrielle Baker (Barker) and Vanessa Burkard (Newfane) to complete the All-League first team.

The 8-14 place finishers, which comprise the All-League second team , include, in order, Lydia Chunco (Newfane), Catalena Ersing (Newfane), Emma Mathes (Albion), Kelsey Ciemny (Roy-Hart), Serena Harris (Barker), Hannah Grammer (Albion) and Shelby Nerber (Newfane).

Photos by Tom Rivers – Sweeping individual honors were Newfane champions Samuel Auernhamer and Kim Goerss.

Photos by Tom Rivers – Albion’s Alanna Holman, left, finished third and Roy-Hart’s Anna Rickard fifth.

Photo by Tom Rivers – Barker’s Peter DiLorenzo finishes third just ahead of Roy-Hart’s Ozzy Moore.