Newfane, Roy-Hart dominate girls N-O swim championships

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 31 January 2014 at 12:00 am

Photo contributed by Randy Knaak – Seven Roy-Hart and six Newfane swimmers shared in earning top honors at the annual Niagara-Orleans girls individual championships this evening at Akron. The Roy-Hart swimmers include Calee Coleman, Melissa Zakrzewski, Emily DiMayo, Lindsay Yates, Alex Hill, Courtney VanBuren and Hanah Rausch. Newfane’s winners include Lydia Gaughran, Allie DeBiase, Kiki Dy, Mallory Buzyniski, Kendall Schmeelke and Brianna Gaughran.

Regular season champion Newfane and runner-up Roy-Hart dominated the competition at the annual Niagara-Orleans All-League girls individual swim championships at Akron this evening taking first place in all 11 events.

Newfane had a pair of individual event double winners as Kiki Dy took the 50 freestyle (:26.52) and the 100 free (:56.94) and Allie DeBiase captured the 200 individual medley (2:29.68) and the 100 breaststroke (1:15.82).

Roy-Hart got a double win effort from Calee Coleman who took both the 500 free (5:35.04) and the 100 backstroke (1:06.91).

The other individual events saw Newfane’s Lydia Gaughran take the 200 free (2:11.0) and Roy-Hart’s Alex Hill the 100 butterfly (1:11.19).

In the relay events, Roy-Hart took the 200 medley in 2:04.70 with the foursome of Coleman, Melissa Zakrzewski, Emily DiMayo and Lindsay Yates and the 400 free in 4:01.02 with the quartet of Coleman, Yates, Courtney VanBuren and Hannah Rausch while Newfane took the 200 free in 1:53.58 with Dy, Brianna Gaughran, Kendall Schmeelke and Mallory Buzyniski.

Yates also placed second in both the 50 and 100 free, Hill in the individual medley, VanBuren in the 200 free and Lydia Gaughran in the 500 free.