New Section VI football division alignment has changes for Albion

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 15 February 2022 at 11:56 am

The division lineups for next fall’s Section VI football season have been announced and include some big scheduling changes for Albion.

The new alignment has Albion in the B2 Division along with Cheektowaga, Maryvale and a quartet of opponents from the southern portion of the section including Olean, Falconer, Dunkirk and East Aurora.

That is very similar to the 2020 B2 lineup which had Albion along with Maryvale, Olean, Dunkirk, Lake Shore, Maritime and Depew.

Last fall Albion was in the B North Division along with Roy-Hart/Barker/Lyndonville, Burgard, Cheektowaga, Maryvale, Lew-Port and Maritime.

Lew-Port and Burgard are now in the B1 Division while Maritime is in A3.

Roy-Hart/Barker/Lyndonville is now in the C North Division along with Medina, Akron, Newfane, Tonawanda and Cleveland Hill.

Roy-Hart/Barker/Lyndonville replaces Wilson which has dropped to the D Division for the only change to the C North lineup.

The Section VI football schedule is expected to be finalized by the end of the month.