New Mexico now on NY travel advisory, bringing total to 33 states

By Tom Rivers, Editor Posted 7 October 2020 at 8:30 am

Governor Andrew M. Cuomo announced on Tuesday that New Mexico has been added to New York State’s Covid-19 travel advisory. No areas have been removed.

The advisory requires individuals who have traveled to New York from areas with significant community spread to quarantine for 14 days. The quarantine applies to any person arriving from an area with a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents over a 7-day rolling average or an area with a 10 percent or higher positivity rate over a 7-day rolling average.

“Mass gatherings cause infections, which cause a cluster; a cluster causes community spread – that is the natural evolution of things unless we intervene and stop the cycle,” Governor Cuomo said. “We’ve seen it in colleges, factory settings around the country, in apple plants around New York, a single restaurant on Long Island – we’ve even seen in the Rose Garden that mass gatherings spread this virus. We’re seeing clusters now in several areas in the state and we have to stop the spread before we go backwards on the progress we’ve made.”

The full list of 33 states and two territories on the travel advisory now includes: Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Guam, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Minnesota, Missouri, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Wisconsin, West Virginia and Wyoming.

Return to top