N-O League trio earns first team All-WNY field hockey honors

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 24 December 2014 at 12:00 am

Contributed Photos – The Niagara-Orleans League is represented on the first team of the All-WNY field hockey team by Barker’s Gabby Clare, lelt, Akron’s Abigail Stone and Barker’s Melissa Grosshans.

Barker, which captured a ninth straight Niagara-Orleans League title with a perfect 12-0 record, is represented on the first team of the annual All-Western New York field hockey squad by the senior duo of attackers Gabby Clare and Melissa Grosshans.

Akron, which finished in the runner-up spot at 9-3, has placed freshman defender Abigail Stone on the first team.

Both five year varsity players for the Lady Raiders, Clare had 13 goals and 9 assists this season and Grosshans 12 goals.

Stone, a two year varsity starter, netted 8 goals.

The N-O League also had Wilson junior attacker Rachel Cobo earn second team All-WNY honors.

In addition, Barker junior goalie Caitlyn Mason, Akron sophomore defender Cierra Janis, Wilson junior midfielder Courtney Wheeler, Newfane senior midfielder Leah Good and Roy-Hart sophomore defender Rielly Albee all received Honorable Mention.

All nine players were first team N-O All-League honorees.