N-O sets All-League girls soccer squad

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 8 November 2017 at 10:00 am

Contributed Photo – Akron’s quintet of Maggie Leeds, Mackenzie O’Brien, Laurie Poeller, Jenna Robnett and Kara Sequin head the first team of the annual Niagara-Orleans All-League girls soccer squad.

Five Akron players head the first team of the annual Niagara-Orleans All-League girls soccer squad.

That Lady Tigers quintet includes freshman forward Kara Sequin, junior midfielder Jenna Robnett, senior midfielder Maggie Leeds, senior defender Mackenzie O’Brien and senior goalie Laurie Poeller, O’Brien is a repeat first team honoree.

Photos by Cheryl Wertman – Champion Newfane has placed the duo of Kayleigh Daniels and Emily Foltz on the first team.

Sequin had 29 goals and 14 assists on the season, Robnett 16 goals and 15 assists, Leeds 8 goals and 8 assists and O’Brien 1 goal and 3 assists. In the net, Poeller made 137 saves and had a 0.776 goals against average.

Wilson has placed the trio of senior goalie Emily Kelly, senior defender Madelyn Austin and sophomore forward Skylar Munnikhuysen.

Kelly made 155 saves and had a goals against average of 0.839. Munnikhuysen had 11 goals and 5 assists and Austin 3 goals and 3 assists.

Champion Newfane is represented by the high scoring senior duo of forwards Kayleigh Daniels and Emily Foltz.

Daniels, a repeat selection, had 29 goals and 17 assists and Foltz, a three-time honoree, had 26 goals and 11 assists.

Rounding out the first team are Albion junior forward Brylie Hapeman and Medina/Lyndonville senior forward Dentiny Satkowski.

Photos by Cheryl Wertman – Medina/Lyndonville is represented by Destiny Satkowski and Albion by Brylie Hapeman.

Hapeman had 19 goals and 5 assists while Satkowski, who missed the last part of the season with an injury, had 16 goals and 3 assists.

Roy-Hart has placed a trio of players on the second team including junior forward Meghan Washington (6 goals, 1 assist), junior midfielder Maddie Fry (1g, 7a) and senior midfielder Ellie Todd.

Newfane likewise has three second team honorees including junior goalie Madalyn Traverse, senior midfielder Erica Flagler (3g, 11a) and junior midfielder Sarah Milczarski.

Akron has placed the defender duo of senior Julia Wartinger and sophomore Morgan Wdowka.

The second team also includes Barker senior goalie Kylie Miller, Wilson junior forward Isabella Schultz, Albion senior defender Natalie DiCureia and Medina/Lyndonville sophomore defender Olivia Carter (6g, 3a).

The Honorable Mention selections, by school, includes:

Akron – Amanda Swader (Sr.), Mindy Doktor (So.) and Julia George (So.)

Albion – Paige Derisley (So.), Kendall Derisley (So.) and Elisabeth Baker (Sr.)

Barker – Mallory Gross (Sr.), Abby Harris (Sr.) and Morgan Szczepaniak (Sr.)

Newfane – Meghan Mietlicki (Sr.), Renee Hulbert (Sr.) and Megan Knoll (Jr.)

Medina/Lyndonville – Ashlee Howell (Jr.) and Kaya Bloom (Sr.)

Roy-Hart – Josephine Capen (Sr.) and Kara Choate (8th)

Wilson – Chaylee Wilson (Sr.), Julia Seider (Sr.), Melanie Gray (Fr.)

Photos by Cheryl Wertman – Wilson is represented on the first team by the trio of Skylar Munnikhuysen, Emily Kelly and Madelyn Austin.