N-O players earn All-WNY field hockey honors

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 2 January 2016 at 12:00 am

Contributed Photos – Akron’s trio of All-Western New York honorees includes Sarah Schultz, Cierra Janis and Abigal Stone.

Nine Niagara-Orleans League players have earned spots on the All-Western New York field hockey squad.

N-O League and Section VI Class C champion Akron heads the local contingent with two first team honorees, senior forward Sarah Schultz and sophomore defender Abigail Stone.

Schultz led the N-O in goals with 17 and also had 8 assists while Stone led the league in assists with 11 and also netted 7 goals.

The Lady Tigers also had junior sweeper Cierra Janis receive Honorable Mention.

Barker’s All-WNY selections are Erika Moeller, left, and Caitlyn Mason.

Barker is represented on the second team by the senior duo of goalie Caitlyn Mason and defender Erika Moeller.

Wilson placed junior defender Erin Boyle on the second team while senior forward Rachael Cobo earned Honorable Mention. Cobo netted 8 goals and had 5 assists.

Roy-Hart junior sweeper/defender Reilly Albee and Newfane junior goalie Mia Ludwig also both received Honorable Mention. Albee had 4 goals and 5 assists this past season.

Wilson is represented on the All-WNY squad by Rachael Cobo, and Erin Boyle.

Roy-Hart’s Reilly Albee, left, and Newfane’s Mia Ludwig have also earned All-WNY honors.