N-O players earn All-WNY field hockey honors

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 26 December 2022 at 12:30 pm

Photos by Cheryl Wertman -The N-O League’s first All-WNY honorees include Lacey Berghorn and Madison Brege from Akron and Mia Herman from Barker.

A total of seven Niagara-Orleans League players have earned spots on the All Western New York field hockey squad.

N-O champion Akron is represented on the first team by senior midfielder Madison Brege and senior attacker Lacey Berghorn. Brege had 20 goals and 6 assists and Berghorn 17 goals and 4 assists this past season.

Barker has placed senior midfielder Mia Herman on the first team. She had 16 goals and 9 assists.

Medina is represented on the second team by junior midfielder Iyla Lilleby who had 24 goals and 10 assists.

Akron has placed senior attacker Sophia Jones and Barker senior defender Ashlin Cole on the second team. Jones had 9 goals and 2 assists and Cole 2 goals and 1 assist.

Medina freshman attacker Penelope Schalck has received Honorable Mention. She had 14 goals and 13 assists.

The All-WNY squad honorees also include Iyla Lilleby from Medina, Sophia Jones from Akron, Ashlin Cole from Barker and Penelope Schalck from Medina.