N-O players earn All-WNY field hockey honors

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 9 January 2017 at 10:10 am

Contributed Photos – Heading the Niagara-Orleans League’s contingent of players earning All-Western New York field hockey honors is this first team trio of, from left, Abigail Stone (Akron), Mia Ludwig (Newfane) and Lydia Dewart (Barker).

A total of nine Niagara-Orleans League players have earned spots on the All-Western New York field hockey squad.

That group is led by the first team trio of Akron junior midfielder Abigail Stone, Barker senior attacker/midfielder Lydia Dewart and Newfane senior goalie Mia Ludwig.

Stone, a three-time All-WNY honoree, scored 13 goals this season helping lead Akron to the N-O title. The versatile Dewart, who played both forward ad midfield spots, netted 6 goals while Ludwig had a goals against average of 2.66 in facing a section high 246 shots.

Akron senior winger Heather Cummings, who led the Lady Tigers with 17 goals, was named to the second team along with Wilson senior defender Erin Boyle.

Two other Akron players, senior sweeper Cierra Janis and junior halfback Amanda Jeziorowski, both earned Honorable Mention as did Barker senior defender/midfielder Grayce Weller and Wilson junior midfielder Olivia Mitchell.